DVD (Wide Screen)

$19.02 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $19.02, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, July 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



Slava Tsukerman directed this visually striking story of a man whose past is taking him on an emotional roller-coaster ride. Sasha Greenberg (Sam Robards) is an astrophysicist who left the Soviet Union in 1975 to defect to the United States and ended up designing nuclear weapons for the American military. In 1992, after Communism has fallen and the USSR has collapsed, Greenberg returns to Russia for the first time, and while his visit is prompted by an invitation to speak at a conference on physics, he's soon occupied with catching up with the friends he left behind. Greenberg crosses paths with Professor Gross (F. Murray Abraham), his former teacher and intellectual sparring partner, who followed a curiously similar path, turning his back on the United States to design weapons in the Soviet Union. Several of Greenberg's sweethearts also happen to be on hand, including Helen (Ally Sheedy), an astrophysicist from the United States, Natasha (Oksana Stashenko), a fellow scientist from Russia, and Jill (Jicky Schnee), an activist filmmaker. As Greenberg ponders his present and his past, his imagination carries him back and forth through his life, leading him to a state of mental chaos as Russia begins to move toward a new revolution. Perestroika was an official selection at the 2009 BFI London Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2009
UPC: 0712267291526
Original Release: 2008
Rating: NR
Source: Strand Home Video
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 80,119

Special Features

Closed Caption; Original theatrical trailer; Other strand releasing trailers

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Sam Robards Sasha Greenberg
Ally Sheedy Helen
F. Murray Abraham Professor Gross
Oksana Stashenko Natasha
Jicky Schnee Jill
Maria Andreyeva Elena

Technical Credits
Slava Tsukerman Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Dan Cohen Co-producer
Robert E. Field Executive Producer
Marina Fotiyeva Casting
Judy Henderson Casting
Mikhail V. Iskandaro Cinematographer
Anna Katchko Associate Producer
Nina V. Korova Producer
Mimi Maxmen Costumes/Costume Designer
Mikhail Rubtsov Production Designer
Arnie Schlissel Editor
Tatiana Vdovina Costumes/Costume Designer
Alexander Zhurbin Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Perestroika
1. Opening [7:34]
2. The Whole Gang [6:17]
3. Unexplored Space [10:29]
4. God & Caesar [6:15]
5. A traitor [9:23]
6. Helen of Troy [10:08]
7. Labyrinth Has Changed [8:48]
8. Stealing Sasha [8:35]
9. Finally Alone [6:24]
10. Raw Footage [10:41]
11. True Voice of Russia [9:23]
12. Credits [3:01]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews