Prisoners of the Sun

Prisoners of the Sun

Director: Stephen Wallace Cast: Bryan Brown, George Takei, Terry O'Quinn

DVD (Color / Pan & Scan)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Prisoners of the Sun

In 1945, a tribunal was held to investigate atrocities committed by the Japanese upon Australian soldiers during World War II. At an internment camp, 1100 Australian soldiers were tortured and killed by the Japanese, with only 300 survivors. This horrible event was not known until a terrible discovery of decapitated corpses was made at a grisly site on Ambon Island in Indonesia after the war. Stephen Wallace directed this courtroom drama based on the incident and follows the intrepid investigator who uncovers the truth behind the missing Australian soldiers. Bryan Brown plays Captain Cooper, the prosecutor of the case, in which 91 Japanese officers and soldiers are accused of murdering the Australian prisoners-of-war. The chief defendants are camp commander Takahashi (George Takei) and Captain Ikeuchi (Tetsu Watanabe). Takahashi denies knowing anything about the atrocities, as does Ikeuchi. Nevertheless, Cooper presses on to undercover the truth. But standing in his way is the American delegation, led by Major Beckett (Terry O'Quinn). They don't want a case to go forward that would reflect badly on the Japanese high command, since General MacArthur wants to reinstate many of the Japanese officers in a new postwar Japanese order.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/15/2004
UPC: 0084296406470
Original Release: 1991
Rating: R
Source: Allumination
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:48:00

Special Features

Interactive menus; Scene access; Original trailer; Biographies; Filmographies; Historical content; Interview: "Ray Martin Live" with Russell Crowe and Bryan Brown; Music video: 30 Odd Foot of Grunts "Memorial Day"

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Bryan Brown Captain Robert Cooper
George Takei Vice Admiral Baron Takahashi
Terry O'Quinn Major Tom Beckett
Toshi Shioya Lieutenant Hideo Tanaka
John Bach Maj. Frank Roberts
John Clarke Mike Sheedy
Deborah Kara Unger Sister Carol Littell
John Polson Private Jimmy Fenton
Nicholas Eadie Sergeant Keenan
Tetsu Watanabe Captain Wadami Ikeuchi
Sokyu Fujita Mr. Shinji Matsugae
Ray Barrett Lieutenant Colonel Johnson
Kazuhiro Muroyama Lieutenant Noburo Kamura
Jason Donovan Private Talbot
David Argue Flight Lieutenant Eddy Fenton
Alison Barrett Actor
Andrew Booth Private Bill Mitchell
Matthew Keyes Flight Lieutenant Rogers
Russell Crowe Lt. Corbett
Yuichiro Senga Lieutenant Shimada
Malcolm Cork Australian Soldier
Donal Gibson Cpl. Patterson
Shane McNamara Major Robert's Aide
Peter Waterstreet Flight Lieutenant O'Donnell
Tim Reuther Flight Lieutenant Smith
Christina Ongley Nurse Pearson

Technical Credits
Stephen Wallace Director
Nicholas Beauman Editor
Virginia Bieneman Art Director
Annie Bleakley Co-producer
Russell Boyd Cinematographer
Richard Brennan Producer
Graham Burke Producer
Gregory Coote Producer
Bernard Hides Production Designer
Hugh Johnson Set Decoration/Design
Roger Kirk Costumes/Costume Designer
David McHugh Score Composer
John Tarnoff Executive Producer
Brian Waterstreet Producer
Charles Waterstreet Producer
Denis Whitburn Producer,Screenwriter
Brian A. Williams Producer,Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Prisoners of the Sun
1. Dig [8:27]
2. P.O.W. Camp [10:23]
3. Tell the Truth [10:26]
4. Legal Rights [11:37]
5. Case Closed [9:10]
6. Eddie! [12:26]
7. Animals! [12:09]
8. Shame [7:48]
9. No Signal Sent [10:11]
10. Victims [7:43]
11. Execution [5:24]
12. End Credits [2:37]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews