DVD (Wide Screen)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Quiet Room

Dutch-Australian director Rolf de Heer's second film is a vision of a quickly dissolving marriage as seen through the eyes of a seven-year-old child. Chloe Ferguson (de Heer's real-life daughter) stars as a nameless little girl who withdraws completely into herself and refuses to speak as the level of animosity between her mother (Celine O'Leary) and father (Paul Blackwell) moves them inexorably closer to divorce. The girl's voice is heard, however, as narration, in which she describes her increasing alienation from the squabbling adults who are becoming more self absorbed, and more childish, than their child. Her only refuge is her blue-walled room, a fantasyland of goldfish and Barbie dolls that don't bicker, where she can remember happier days when she as three, or dream of a pet dog and a house in the country. The theme of an immature soul trapped by family within the confines of a home thematically mirrored de Heer's more controversial previous film Bad Boy Bubby (1993), which did not find North American distribution.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2008
UPC: 0014381139426
Original Release: 1996
Rating: PG
Source: Image Entertainment
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:33:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Celine O'Leary Mother
Paul Blackwell Father
Chloe Ferguson Child Aged 7
Phoebe Ferguson Child Aged 3

Technical Credits
Rolf de Heer Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Tony Clark Camera Operator,Cinematographer
Beverly Freeman Art Director,Costumes/Costume Designer
Beverley Freeman Art Director
Micaela Fusco Associate Producer
Sharon Jackson Co-producer
Audine Leith Casting
David Lightfoot Asst. Director,Producer
Tania Nehme Editor
Fiona Paterson Co-producer,Production Designer
Giuseppe Pedersoli Co-producer
Domenico Procacci Producer
Peter D. Smith Sound/Sound Designer
Graham Tardif Score Composer,Songwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Quiet Room
1. Problems [8:17]
2. Where Am I? [5:23]
3. Understanding [5:41]
4. Feelings [5:06]
5. The Lamb [8:34]
6. Again [5:47]
7. Adults Behaving Like Kids [6:28]
8. Some Fun [3:06]
9. Change [5:30]
10. The Egg [4:36]
11. Stop! [8:55]
12. Say It [4:26]
13. Help Me [5:23]
14. Tricked [4:03]
15. Mixed Up [4:04]
16. Empty [5:09]
17. End Credits [2:08]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews