Remember the Night

Remember the Night

Director: Mitchell Leisen Cast: Barbara Stanwyck, Fred MacMurray, Beulah Bondi


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, December 16


A romantic comedy drama directed by former art director Mitchell Leisen and based on a skillful Preston Sturges screenplay. Barbara Stanwyck stars as Lee Leander, a New York City shoplifter who is arrested just before Christmas after trying to filch an expensive piece of jewelry. Her trial delayed until after the holiday, Lee comes to the attention of an assistant district attorney, John Sargent (Fred MacMurray). Although he will be expected to prosecute Lee in a few days, John takes pity on the prisoner, who is from his home state of Indiana. He arranges for her to be released for the holidays and escorts her home, but her mother (Georgia Caine) is not interested in a reunion. So John takes Lee to his own festivities, where Lee is bowled over by the love and affection of the Sargent family, particularly John's mother (Beulah Bondi), who is so unlike her own. Lee and John fall in love, but their return to the Big Apple and Lee's trial loom large over their romance.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2018
UPC: 0191329053836
Original Release: 1940
Rating: NR
Source: Universal Mod
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 1,696

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Barbara Stanwyck Lee Leander
Fred MacMurray John Sargent
Beulah Bondi Mrs. Sargent
Elizabeth Patterson Aunt Emma
Willard Robertson Francis X. O'Leary
Sterling Holloway Willie
Paul Guilfoyle District Attorney
Charles Arnt Tom
John Wray Hank
Thomas W. Ross Mr. Emory
Tom Kennedy Fat Mike
Georgia Caine Lee's Mother
Virginia Brissac Mrs. Emory
Spencer Charters Judge at Rummage Sale
Ruth Warren Actor
Galan Galt Actor
Beth Hartman Jury Member
Martha Mears Actor
Fred "Snowflake" Toones Rufus
Chester Clute Jewelry Salesman
George H. Melford Brian
Kate Lawson Jail Matron
John Beck Lee's Stepfather
Edmund Elton Minister
Fuzzy Knight Band Leader
Milt Kibbee Jury Member
Pat O'Malley Jury Member
Julia Faye Jury Member
Jean Acker Jury Member
Ambrose Barker Jury Member
Brooks Benedict Customs Official
Harry Depp Jury Member
James Flavin Tough Attendant
George Guhl Prison Guard
Walter Soderling Jury Member
Bernard Suss Jury Member
Julius Tannen Jury Member

Technical Credits
Mitchell Leisen Director,Producer
Roland Anderson Art Director
Hans Dreier Art Director
A.E. Freudeman Set Decoration/Design
Doane Harrison Editor
Earl S. Hayman Sound/Sound Designer
Edith Head Costumes/Costume Designer
Frederick Hollander Score Composer
Walter Oberst Sound/Sound Designer
Preston Sturges Screenwriter
Irvin Talbot Musical Direction/Supervision
Ted Tetzlaff Cinematographer
Hal Walker Asst. Director
Wally Westmore Makeup

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews