Return to Mayberry

Return to Mayberry

DVD (Full Frame)

$14.24 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.24, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, July 25 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Return to Mayberry

Inspired by the success of previous TV sitcom "reunion" films, Return to Mayberry debuted on April 13, 1986. Eleven of the original cast members of the classic Andy Griffith Show were reunited in this marvelous blast from the past. The plot finds former sheriff Andy Taylor (Griffith, of course), returning to Mayberry, North Carolina to visit his grown son Opie (Ron Howard, taking a break from his busy directorial career), who is now an expectant father. Andy's onetime deputy Barney Fife (Don Knotts) is running for the sheriff's post, so Andy decides to stick around to help out. Barney thinks he's found an excellent publicity ploy when he discovers what seems to be a bigfoot-style monster roaming around the Carolina hills. Actually, he's the victim of a cruel hoax, compelling Andy once more to come to Barn's rescue. Also in the cast is George Lindsay as Goober, Jim Nabors as Gomer, Aneta Corsaut as Helen, Betty Lynn as Thelma Lou, and Howard Morris as Ernest T. Bass. Conspicuous by her absence was Frances "Aunt Bee" Bavier, who was too ill to make a comeback. The highest-rated TV movie of 1986, Return to Mayberry might have resulted in a series, but Andy Griffith decided to switch professional gears and star as an attorney in Matlock.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/13/2017
UPC: 0032429277220
Original Release: 1986
Rating: NR
Source: Paramount
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:35:00
Sales rank: 4,152

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Betty Lynne Actor
Robert Broyles Wilson
Aneta Corsaut Helen Crump Taylor
Karlene Crockett Eunice Taylor
Jack Dodson Howard Sprague
Andy Griffith Andy Taylor
Ron Howard Opie Taylor
Don Knotts Barney Fife
Howard Morris Ernest T. Bass
Jim Nabors Gomer Pyle
Rance Howard Preacher
George Lindsey Goober Pyle
Richard Lineback Butler
Denver Pyle Briscoe Darling
Allen Williams Lloyd Fox
Hal Smith Otis Campbell
Paul Willson Ben Woods

Technical Credits
Bob Sweeney Director
Harvey Bullock Teleplay
Robin S. Clark Producer
Richard C. Glouner Cinematographer
Everett Greenbaum Teleplay
Andy Griffith Executive Producer
Earle Hagen Score Composer
Dean Hargrove Producer
Richard O. Linke Executive Producer
Dale Allan Pelton Art Director
David Solomon Editor
Ray Storey Production Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Andy Griffith Show: Return to Mayberry
1. Chapter 1 [21:34]
2. Chapter 2 [13:14]
3. Chapter 3 [10:37]
4. Chapter 4 [11:32]
5. Chapter 5 [10:34]
6. Chapter 6 [11:24]
7. Chapter 7 [16:27]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews