Rice People

Rice People

Director: Catherine Dailleax, Alfred Lot, Rithy Panh Cast: Peng Phan

DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Rice People

A poor, rural Cambodian family slowly disintegrates during the cycle of a single rice crop in this moving, and beautifully photographed European drama adapted from a novel by Shahnon Ahmad. Pouev, his wife Om, and his seven children, live in a small rural village in Cambodia. Their whole precarious life depends upon the success of their rice crop. Both husband and wife are worried, but for different reasons. Pouev is concerned because their acreage is shrinking. Om worries about Pouev; what would happen to her and the children if he died or was injured? Her worst fear is manifest after Pouev steps upon a poisoned thorn and dies. Om finds herself heavily burdened with the responsibilities of maintaining the crop and caring for seven youngsters. She suffers paranoia from worrying about whether the children are doing their share and the other villagers lock her up leaving eldest daughter Sokha to bring in the crop.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/30/2006
UPC: 0736899091927
Original Release: 1994
Rating: NR
Source: Facets
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 2:04:00

Special Features

Interview with director Rithy Panh; Original trailer; Scene selection; Optional subtitles: English or French

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Peng Phan Yim Om
Chhim Naline Sakha, oldest daughter
Mom Soth Vong Poeuv
Va Simorn Sokhoeun
Meas Daniel Pou Mann
Phang Chamroeun Man

Technical Credits
Catherine Dailleax Director
Alfred Lot Director
Rithy Panh Director,Screenwriter
Jacques Bidou Producer
Jacques Bouquin Cinematographer
Jean-Claude Brisson Score Composer,Sound/Sound Designer
Nhean Chamnaul Production Designer
André Davanture Editor
Eve Deboise Screenwriter
Georges Demetreau Special Effects
Marc Marder Score Composer
Pierre-Alain Meier Associate Producer
Marie-Christine Rougerie Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Rice People
1. A Simple Life [8:27]
2. The Snakebite [6:35]
3. The Sowing [7:36]
4. The Infection [9:17]
5. The Dilemma [5:19]
6. The Death of Poeuv [9:00]
7. The Funeral/Alone [7:53]
8. Threatened Harvest [6:00]
9. A Woman in Distress [10:02]
10. A Caring Daughter [6:31]
11. Yim Om's Madness [6:26]
12. The Rains/Sokha's Decision [10:46]
13. Fishing/The Birds [7:31]
14. The Harvest/Homecoming [7:14]
15. Yim Om's Rice [7:16]
16. Dawn on the Paddyfield [8:19]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews