Rolando Villazon/Thomas Hampson: Verdi & Wagner - The Odeonsplatz Concert

Rolando Villazon/Thomas Hampson: Verdi & Wagner - The Odeonsplatz Concert

DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo / DTS)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Want it by Monday, November 26 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2014
UPC: 0814337011673
Original Release: 2013
Source: C Major
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [stereo, DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound]
Time: 1:51:00
Sales rank: 62,038

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Rolando Villazon/Thomas Hampson: Verdi & Wagner - The Odeonsplatz Concert
1. Chapter 1 [9:45]
2. Chapter 2 [8:17]
3. Chapter 3 [4:57]
4. Chapter 4 [5:33]
5. Chapter 5 [13:34]
6. Chapter 6 [7:12]
7. Chapter 7 [6:28]
8. Chapter 8 [10:01]
9. Chapter 9 [8:06]
10. Chapter 10 [3:23]
11. Chapter 11 [10:55]
12. Chapter 12 [3:29]
13. Chapter 13 [7:13]
14. Chapter 14 [5:02]
15. Chapter 15 [5:23]
16. Chapter 16 [1:04]
17. Chapter 17 [:10]
18. Chapter 18 [:06]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Verdi & Wagner 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
KlingonOpera More than 1 year ago
Fantastic concert recording featuring two amazing operatic voices! This recording features the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, as well as the two amazing voices of Thomas Hampson (baritone) and Rolando Villazón (tenor), along with some stunning scenery from Odeonsplatz in Munich. But of course, it is the music that is paramount, and with these gentlemen and this orchestra on stage the experience (even though recorded) is captivating indeed. The disc (gorgeous in blu-ray) opens with Verdi’s “Les Vepres siciliennes” overture from Don Carlos, and it is immediately clear that both the orchestra and the conductor are prepared to bring forth the best music that they can bring on this day. Thomas Hampson appears on the third piece (“Ce breuvage pourrait…Vision fugitive”), and as always with Mr. Hampson, it is treat to just sit back and let his wonderful baritone voice wash over you. Mr. Villazón appears next in “Ah! Tout est bien fini” and he sings with a living force that is distractingly captivating. Next we get to hear Maurice Ravel’s “La Valse”, and I found myself marveling at how good this orchestra and its maestro really are. Following that are selections from Wagner, gorgeously performed as the sun went down. And then back to Verdi where track 11 from Don Carlo “E lui Desso l’infante…” was the duet that just stole the show. I have no doubt that, had I been observed while watching, my jaw dropped during the performance of this piece. It was *amazing*. There encores are featured from Verdi’s “Il corsaro”, and each is wonderful in and of itself. Bravi’s must also be extended to the chorus for doing remarkable work throughout the entire recording – when they are called upon, they are there and most certainly up to the high bar that Maestro Nézet-Séguin and the two soloists have set for the performance. Start to finish, this is a wonderful musical experience. The liner notes are all to brief, but they do convey a sense of the atmosphere that was present when the recording was made. But it is the music and voices contained herein that matter, and for those listeners that enjoy the music making of Mr. Nézet-Séguin, Mr. Hampson, or Mr. Villazón, this disc is sure to delight. It is wonderful, and I strongly recommend it.