Sacred Stage: The Mariinski Theater

Sacred Stage: The Mariinski Theater

Director: Joshua Waltezky Cast: Valery Gergiev, Richard Thomas


$23.55 $24.99 Save 6% Current price is $23.55, Original price is $24.99. You Save 6%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, September 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Sacred Stage: The Mariinski Theater

Also known as the Kirov Opera and Ballet Theater, the Mariinsky Theater, located in the Russian city of Saint Petersburg, is one of the world's most prestigious venues for music and dance. Built in 1859, the building briefly fell into disuse following the Soviet Revolution in 1917, but was reopened as a cultural center that brought high art to the people, and despite extensive damage during the Siege of Leningrad, the building was restored in 1944. Though it played host to some of Russia's most famous performers for over a century and a quarter, the Mariinsky's future became uncertain following the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, but under the guidance of artistic director Valery Gergiev, the theater has re-established its reputation as one of the most vital centers for opera and ballet in the world, and attracts fans from all corners of the globe. Sacred Stage: The Mariinsky Theater is a documentary which offers a look at this beautiful home to the performing arts, as well as offering glimpses from its distinguished past and energetic present.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2005
UPC: 0720229911856
Original Release: 2005
Rating: NR
Source: First Run Features
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:00:00
Sales rank: 87,342

Special Features

Extended performances; Bonus interviews; Historical context; Dance film trailer gallery

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Sacred Stage: The Mariinsky Theater
1. Opening [4:56]
2. St. Petersburg [2:40]
3. The Sleeping Beauty [9:38]
4. A Lavish Lifestyle [4:36]
5. Boris Godunov [4:38]
6. Survival [6:39]
7. New Generation [11:49]
8. A Legacy In Music and Dance [6:14]
9. Unbroken Link [2:19]
10. No Longer A Student [5:21]
11. Closing Credits [1:25]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews