Pub. Date:
Safe House

Safe House

Patrick Stewart
Director: Eric Steven Stahl Cast: Patrick Stewart
Patrick Stewart
, Kimberly Williams
Kimberly Williams
, Hector Elizondo
Hector Elizondo
Eric Steven Stahl

DVD (Stereo)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


Patrick Stewart plays Mace Sowell, a retired government operative who possesses damaging information about a presidential hopeful, and holes himself up inside his secure compound because he fears reprisal. In order to protect himself, Sowell has designed a system whereby the information will be released to the public if he is not there to type in a password at regular intervals. This he believes will keep him from being assassinated, but just in case, he stages elaborate self-defense drills with unwitting servants, and tries to convince his family that the explanation he gave them about his career was a cover story to hide his true military affiliations. The problem is, Sowell is also suffering the early stages of Alzheimer's, so his daughter (Joy Kilpatrick) considers his paranoid stories to be delusional ravings. She hires a psychiatrist (Kimberly Williams) to analyze her father and watch over him, in the hopes of easing his dementia. Sowell initially distrusts his new companion, but begins to lower his guard and care for her deeply. Meanwhile, his disease is advancing, and if he can't remember the password, his critical information will be released prematurely and he'll be hunted down by his enemies.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/18/2000
UPC: 0758445102024
Original Release: 1998
Rating: NR
Source: Showtime Ent.
Region Code: 1
Sound: [stereo]
Time: 1:55:00
Sales rank: 40,057

Special Features

Cast and crew interviews; Spanish language; Web link; Interactive game; Filmographies; Motion menu; Scene access; Ultra stereo; Closed captioned

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Patrick Stewart Actor
Kimberly Williams Actor
Hector Elizondo Actor

Technical Credits
Eric Steven Stahl Director

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Scene Index
1. Intruder Alert [:13]
2. Diagnosis [7:43]
3. Andi Moves In [13:28]
4. Security Check [12:58]
5. Detente [6:29]
6. "no More Drills!" [10:12]
7. Attack [11:00]
8. Disarmament [14:00]
9. Dead Man's Switch [10:50]
10. Final Preparation [8:27]

Customer Reviews