Richard Roxburgh
Director: Alister Grierson Cast: Richard Roxburgh
Richard Roxburgh
, Rhys Wakefield
Rhys Wakefield
, Ioan Gruffudd
Ioan Gruffudd
Alister Grierson

Blu-ray (Wide Screen)

$18.76 $19.99 Save 6% Current price is $18.76, Original price is $19.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


An intrepid team of explorers gets trapped in a complex underground cave system when a tropical storm makes it impossible to escape the same way they entered in this claustrophobic adventure drama from director Alister Grierson and executive producer James Cameron. Inspired by actual events, Sanctum tells the tale of Frank McGuire (Richard Roxburgh), a master diver intent on being the first to explore the Esa-ala cave system in the South Pacific. Shortly after Frank descends into the caves with a team that includes his teenage son, Josh (Rhys Wakefield), and expedition bankroller Carl Hurley (Ioan Gruffudd), a massive storm collapses the entrance to the system, forcing the adventurers to plunge deeper into the darkness in search of an alternate exit. With supplies quickly dwindling and water levels rapidly rising, Frank and his team surmise that their best hope for survival is to follow an underground river thought to empty into the ocean. But given that few explorers have ever even dared set foot in the Esa-ala system, no one quite knows for sure whether they're racing toward freedom, or another dead end.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2011
UPC: 0025192073557
Original Release: 2011
Rating: R
Source: Universal Studios
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:49:00
Sales rank: 26,991

Special Features

Deleted scenes ; Sanctum: the real story; Nullarbor dreaming; Feature commentary with director Alister Grierson, actor Rhys Wakefield and co-writer/producer Andrew Wight

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Richard Roxburgh Frank McGuire
Rhys Wakefield Josh McGuire
Ioan Gruffudd Carl Hurley
Alice Parkinson Victoria
Daniel Wyllie Crazy George
Christopher Baker J.D.
Nicole Downes Liz
Allison Cratchley Judes
Cramer Cain Luko
Andrew Hansen Dex
John Garvin Jim Sergeant
Sean Dennehy Chopper Pilot
Nea Diap Kastrom Shaman

Technical Credits
Alister Grierson Director
Greg Apps Casting
Ben Browning Executive Producer
Gary Cameron Set Decoration/Design
Phil Eagles Costumes/Costume Designer
John Garvin Screenwriter
David Hirschfelder Score Composer
James Cameron Executive Producer
Leesa Kahn Associate Producer
Gail Kane Makeup
Ryan Kavanaugh Executive Producer
Bliss MacGillicuddy Makeup
Michael Maher Executive Producer
Nicholas McCallum Production Designer
Wizzy Molineaux Makeup
Jen O'Connell Art Director
Jules O'Loughlin Cinematographer
Brian Pearce Special Effects Supervisor
Paul Pirola Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Rawlinson Executive Producer
Aaron Ryder Co-producer
Wade Savage Asst. Director
Mark Warner Editor
Andrew Wight Producer,Screenwriter
Tom Wild Production Manager

Customer Reviews