Silent Waters

Silent Waters

Director: Sabiha Sumar Cast: Kirron Kher, Aamir Malik, Arshad Mahmud

DVD (Subtitled)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Silent Waters

Pakistani filmmaker Sabiha Sumar directs the political drama Khamosh Pani (Silent Waters). Set in a small Pakistani village in 1979, the film follows widowed family matriarch Ayesha (Kirron Kher) as she struggles under the martial law that declares her country a Muslim state. Her teenage son Saleem (Aamir Malik) is encouraged by his wealthy girlfriend Zubeida (Shilpa Shukla) to get a job. However, he ends up hanging out with a bunch of Muslim fundamentalists and causing trouble for the Sikh pilgrims. Meanwhile, Ayesha remembers secrets from her past awakened by the arrival of the Sikh pilgrim Jaswant (Navtej Johar). Silent Waters won the Golden Leopard award at the 2003 Locarno International Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/20/2005
UPC: 0720229911740
Original Release: 2003
Rating: NR
Source: First Run Features
Time: 1:39:00

Special Features

Q & A with human rights expert Smita Narula; Film notes by Human Rights Watch; Director's statement; Director's biography; Trailer gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Kirron Kher Ayesha
Aamir Malik Saleem
Arshad Mahmud Mahboob
Salman Shahid Amin
Shilpa Shukla Zubeida
Sarfaraz Ansari Rashid
Shazim Ashraf Zubair
Navtej Johar Jaswant
Fariha Jabeen Shabnam
Adnan Shah Mazhar
Rehan Sheikh Afsaan

Technical Credits
Sabiha Sumar Director,Screenwriter
Helge Albers Producer
Philippe Avril Producer
Bettina Boehler Editor
Uve Haussig Sound/Sound Designer
Frank Herzog Art Director
Iqbal Mobashir Kidwai Asst. Director
Matthias Lempert Sound/Sound Designer
Arshad Mahmud Score Composer
Olivier Meidinger Production Designer
Ralph Netzer Cinematographer
Julia Rose Asst. Director
Julia Rose Asst. Director
Sachithanandam Sathananthan Producer
Heike Schultz-Fademrecht Costumes/Costume Designer
Madan Gopal Singh Score Composer
Claudia Tronnier Producer
Paromita Vohra Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Silent Waters
1. The World Is Waiting [9:52]
2. To Be Young Again [7:02]
3. The Future Is Bright [5:56]
4. Men in Power [9:44]
5. Respected People [7:42]
6. Finding a Direction [8:21]
7. A Matter of Practice [8:59]
8. The Nightmare of Reality [8:51]
9. A Family Divided [9:03]
10. The Boiling Point [8:35]
11. Letting Go of Pain [6:59]
12. Credits [4:03]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews