Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Slacker Uprising

Opinionated documentary filmmaker Michael Moore takes an up-close look at the political leanings of college students in George W. Bush-era America with this effort shot during Moore's 60-city college campus tour in the months leading up to the 2004 election. The first feature-length film by a major director to make it's official premiere for free on the internet, Slacker Uprising finds Moore giving up any hope for making a profit on the film (which was budgeted at $2 million) in favor of getting his message out to the largest possible audience. That message? "Get off of the couch and give voting a chance." By taking the "Slacker Uprising Tour" to college campuses across the country and offering attendees a free change of underwear, a box of Ramen noodles, and a vow never to begin an event before noon nor allow any politician to speak at one of their events, Moore and his traveling band of speakers, comedians, and musicians managed to fill basketball arenas and football stadiums across the country with apathetic students who hungered for a serious sea change in the American political landscape. Featuring special appearances by R.E.M., Eddie Vedder, Viggo Mortensen, Roseanne Barr, Joan Baez, and Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/2008
UPC: 0826262005290
Original Release: 2007
Rating: NR
Source: Disinformation
Time: 1:37:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Noodlegate: Mike bribes the slackers; George W. Bueller's day off; Storytime with Mike: My Pet Goat; The O'Reilly Factor for kids; Crank calling Pfizer: 212-573-1226; They worked for George W. Bush; Letter from the war zone: Will they ever trust us again?; Canadian elevator music; Joan Baez and Michael Moore: America the Beautiful

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Viggo Mortensen Participant
Joan Baez Participant
Roseanne Barr Participant
Steve Earle Participant
Eddie Vedder Participant
Michael Moore Participant
Michael Stipe Participant
Tom Morello Participant
R.E.M. Participant

Technical Credits
Michael Moore Director,Screenwriter
Anti-Flag Score Composer
Kathleen Glynn Executive Producer
Monica Hampton Producer
Kirsten Johnson Cinematographer
Francisco Latorre Sound/Sound Designer
Bernardo Loyola Cinematographer,Editor
Jason Pollock Associate Producer,Asst. Director
Noah Vivekanand Timan Sound/Sound Designer
Harvey Weinstein Executive Producer
Bob Weinstein Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Slacker Uprising
1. Sunk by a Swift Boat [4:45]
2. The Tour De Slacker [4:43]
3. Ramen Noodles and Clean Underwear [2:42]
4. The Anti-Propaganda Machine [3:37]
5. Eddie Vedder [5:32]
6. Our Gift to the Republican Party [4:19]
7. Takin' My Country Back [4:19]
8. Rich Man's War [5:25]
9. Bush Lied, Soldeirs Died [9:52]
10. Welcome Our Republican Brothers and Sisters [11:11]
11. Hellooo, Utah! [5:32]
12. Tom Morello, The Nightwatchman [5:06]
13. A Different National Anthem [2:17]
14. Kent State [3:16]
15. Final Four [6:45]
16. One More Day [5:07]
17. There's No Crying in Politics [10:20]
18. Credits [1:34]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews