So Close to Paradise

So Close to Paradise

Director: Wang Xiaoshuai Cast: Wang Tong, Shi Yu, Guo Tao

DVD (Wide Screen)

$9.59 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.59, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


So Close to Paradise

So Close to Paradise was filmed by director Wang Xiaoshuai in 1994, but was not publicly shown until 1998; the film reportedly went through re-editing and re-shooting after running into interference from government authorities before finally being approved for release. The film concerns two friends living in Wuhan, a major point of commerce along the Yangtze River. Dongzi (Shi Yu) works as a "pole carrier," an errand boy who lugs heavy loads from one place to another; he's convinced one gets ahead in life through hard work and determination. Gao Ping (Guo Tao), on the other hand, avoids physical labor and is trying to scam his way through life. One night, the two visit a shabby nightclub where they meet a sultry singer named Ruan Hong (Wang Tong). Gao recognizes Ruan as the girlfriend of a gangster who owes him money; he approaches her to try to find the mobster's whereabouts, but an attraction develops and soon Gao and Ruan are lovers. However, Dongzi also feels drawn to her, and a bitter triangle begins to form while Gao finds himself more at odds with Ruan's former lover. So Close to Paradise received its first screening outside China at the 1998 Mainland-Hong Kong-Taiwan Film Festival where it went by the title Vietnam Girl.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2002
UPC: 0720229909976
Original Release: 1999
Rating: NR
Source: First Run Features
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 84,210

Special Features

Director interview; Director bio; Trailer gallery; Scene access; Interactive menus

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Chapters
2. Two Friends in the City [9:12]
3. The Vietnamese Girl [6:07]
4. Ruan Hong [4:13]
5. The Kidnapping [5:43]
6. At the Restaurant [9:14]
7. The Separation [9:09]
8. Suwu [3:42]
9. Lili Night Club [4:42]
10. Got Into Trouble [13:55]
11. The Arrest [7:20]
12. The Return of Gao Ping [7:37]
13. Conclusion [6:43]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews