Sophie's Choice (The Royal Opera)

Sophie's Choice (The Royal Opera)

Director: Francesca Kemp, Trevor Nunn, Ben Weston
Cast: Angelika Kirchschlager

DVD (Wide Screen / DTS / Stereo)

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Sophie's Choice (The Royal Opera)

Adapted by the late composer Nicholas Maw (1935-2009) from William Styron's prize-winning 1979 novel, the opera Sophie's Choice (like the 1982 Hollywood feature of the same name) dramatizes the plight of a Polish concentration camp survivor stricken with extreme psychological damage for the horrific, impossible choice she had to make at the hands of the Nazis. This particular 2002 stage production (by the Royal Opera House) constituted the premiere of the work. Directed by the eminent Trevor Nunn, it stars Angelika Kirchschlager as Sophie, Gordon Gietz as Stingo, and Rod Gilfry as Nathan; Rob Howell designed the sets. The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House lends symphonic accompaniment, led by Sir Simon Rattle; the Royal Opera Chorus, directed by Terry Edwards, also contributes. Peter Manning serves as chorus master.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/30/2010
UPC: 0809478010241
Original Release: 2002
Source: Bbc / Opus Arte
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [stereo, DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 3:43:00
Sales rank: 61,984

Special Features

Illustrated synopsis; Cast gallery; Interview with Simon Rattle

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Sophie's Choice
1. Opening [:58]
2. Prologue [2:44]
3. Don't Give Me Any of That, You Hear? [4:27]
4. Oh, I Love Him So Much! [5:44]
5. Interlude [7:58]
6. Interlude [4:48]
7. You Know, I Haven't the Faintest Notion [5:22]
8. I Grew Up In the Beautiful City of Kraków [6:18]
9. I Feel Quite Rested Now [5:18]
10. So You See, Stingo... [6:23]
11. Stingo! Oh Stingo! Up and At'Em, Boy [:13]
12. Good Morning, Young Man [3:27]
13. Entrez! [1:52]
14. What Brought You to Brooklyn? [5:14]
15. Coney Island! Golden Effervescent Air! [5:05]
16. Sophie Also Continued to Confide In Me [2:15]
17. Extermination! Oh God, Extermination [13:12]
18. Get Out the Glasses! [6:00]
Disc #2 -- Sophie's Choice
1. Opening [:41]
2. Prologue [2:21]
3. Sophie, I'm Appealing to You [8:42]
4. But Wanda's Brave Defiance Came to Nought [8:51]
5. But It Was Not to Be [2:56]
6. '...Whereas It is Respectfully Suggested' [6:37]
7. Fate, I Think ... Fate Brought Me To You [6:30]
8. Who Is It? You Wished to See Me? [4:04]
9. I Would Risk a Great Deal [5:59]
10. I Have Often Wondered, Stingo [4:40]
11. Where is Nathan, I Wonder? [6:34]
12. Prologue [5:31]
13. Oh Stingo, Thank God You're Here! [4:36]
14. We Fled [2:56]
15. Stingo, Where is Telephone Here? [7:05]
16. Stingo, I Must Tell You Something Now... [9:14]
17. In Her Arms She Still Carried Her Doll [4:34]
18. Inerlude [5:36]
19. 'My Dearest Stingo' [4:19]
20. Oh Stingo, What a Terrible Thing... [5:12]
21. Epilogue [4:21]
22. Curtain Calls and End Credits [6:08]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews