Sound Of Insects

Sound Of Insects


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Sound Of Insects

Japanese novelist Shimada Masahiko based his novel Until I Am a Mummy on the true story of a man who chose a truly unusual way to end his life -- he traveled by himself to a remote corner of the woods, built a small tent from plastic sheeting, and slowly starved himself to death, allowing nature to gradually rob him of his life. No one knew of his plans until a hunter happened upon his dead body, with insects the only witness to the passing he so desired. Filmmaker Peter Liechti fuses fiction and documentary in Sound of Insects: Record of a Mummy, which uses passages from Masahiko's novel as narration while Liechti creates a artful but realistic recreation of the stranger's suicide as he records his thoughts in journals, revels in his loneliness, hallucinates, and anticipates his final hours with both enthusiasm and dread. Canadian director Peter Mettler provides narration for the English-language version of the film, while Alexander Tschernek lends his voice to the German-language edition. Sound of Insects: Record of a Mummy was an official selection at the 2009 Hot Docs International Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/19/2011
UPC: 0705105266510
Original Release: 2009
Source: Lorber Films (Kino)
Time: 1:28:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Peter Mettler Narrator
Alexander Tschernek Narrator
Doraine Green Narrator
Nikola Weisse Narrator

Technical Credits
Peter Liechti Director,Cinematographer,Producer,Screenwriter
Urs Augstburger Co-producer
Marieanne Bergmann Consultant/advisor
Christian Beusch Sound Editor,Sound Mixer
Madeleine Hirsiger Co-producer
Nicolas Humbert Consultant/advisor
Balthasar Jucker Sound/Sound Designer
Matthias Kälin Cinematographer
Norbert Moslang Score Composer
Tania Stöcklin Editor
Christian Weber Score Composer
Katsura Yamauchi Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Sound of Insects
1. Day 1 [8:04]
2. Rain [7:20]
3. Bach [7:07]
4. Lightning [7:32]
5. Stomach Pains [6:29]
6. Afterlife [5:41]
7. Dreams [7:45]
8. The Darkness [7:24]
9. The Soul [7:05]
10. Young Woman [7:13]
11. Alive [8:09]
12. A Light [6:53]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews