Special Agent

Special Agent

DVD (Black & White)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Special Agent

It had been said that the Pine-Thomas production unit never lost money for Paramount Pictures. Even without major star names to carry the box-office weight, Pine-Thomas' Special Agent managed to post a tidy profit. William Eythe stars as Johnny Douglas, an operative of the combined railroads' special-agent division. While encamped in a small California town, Douglas takes on the villainous Devereaux brothers (George Reeves and Paul Valentine), who pull off a big-time payroll train heist. Heroine Lucille Peters, whose father is killed in the robbery, is played by Laura Elliot, who later portrayed the bespectacled murder victim in Hitchcock's Strangers on a Train--and who, as Kasey Rogers, went on to appear as Mrs. Larry Tate on TV's Bewitched. Most of Special Agent is filmed on location, adding authenticity to the melodramatic goings-on.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2005
UPC: 0089218487094
Original Release: 1949
Source: Alpha Video
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:09:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
George Reeves Paul Devereaux
Laura Elliot Lucille Peters
Paul Valentine Edmond Devereaux
Tom Powers Special Agent Wilcox
Carole Mathews Rose McCreary
Frank Puglia Grandfather Devereaux
Jeff York Jake Rumpler
Virginia Christine Mabel Rumpler
Walter S. Baldwin Pop Peters
Raymond Bond Sheriff Babcock
Joseph Granby Sheriff Dodson
Morgan Farley Dr. Bowen
John Hilton Frank Kent
Peter Miles Jake Rumpler
Jimmy Hunt Tim Rumpler
Arthur Stone Tad Miller
William Eythe Johnny Douglas
Robert B. Williams Supt. Olmstead
Truman Bradley Narrator

Technical Credits
William C. Thomas Director,Producer
Lucien Cailliet Score Composer
Ellis W. Carter Cinematographer
Lewis H. Creber Production Designer
Lewis R. Foster Screenwriter
William Pine Producer
Milton Raison Original Story
Howard A. Smith Editor
Whitman Chambers Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Special Agent
2. Chapter 1 [9:16]
3. Chapter 2 [10:25]
4. Chapter 3 [10:46]
5. Chapter 4 [11:36]
6. Chapter 5 [13:55]
7. Chapter 6 [11:16]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews