Stompin' at the Savoy: World of Slide Guitar, Volume 2

Stompin' at the Savoy: World of Slide Guitar, Volume 2


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Stompin' at the Savoy: World of Slide Guitar, Volume 2

The crème-de-la-crème of slide guitar maestros, including Vishwa Mohan Bhatt, Martin Simpson, Freddie Roulette, Mike Auldridge and Bob Brozman, headline the eighty minute concert video, Stompin' at the Savoy: World of Slide Guitar, Vol. 2. The performers showcase the versatility of the instrument through the lens of their respective musical genres - Brozman with delta blues and Hawaiian folk, Roulette with electric blues, Bhatt with Indian classical, Auldridge with bluegrass, and Simpson with bottleneck blues. The musicians employ both lap-style and bottleneck approaches to slide guitar, and, through their performances, demonstrate how both styles can be used to provide an instrumental analogue of the human voice, with its ability to protract and bend notes. Tunes covered include: Simpson on "Spoonful" and medley of "Wayfaring Stranger" and Stole and Sold from Africa; Bhatt on "Raag Misra Piloo" and "Raag Chandrakauns"; Roulette on "End of the Blues," "Sweet Walk," "Norwegian Wood" and "Blueberry Hill"; Auldrege on a medley of "Killing me Softly" and "This Ain't Grass," as well as the titular "Stompin' at the Savoy"; and Brozman on "Hawaiian African Slack Delta Dream," "Mournful Moan," "Chopping Wood Blues" and "E Mama Ea Medley."

Product Details

Release Date: 10/12/2004
UPC: 0011671306995
Original Release: 1998
Rating: NR
Source: Vestapol
Time: 1:20:00
Sales rank: 78,692

Special Features

Vishwa Mohan Bhatt; Martin Simpson; Freddie Roulette; Mike Auldridge; Bob Brozman

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Bob Brozman - Hawaiian African Slack Delta Dream [4:27]
2. Bob Brozman - Mournful Moan [4:06]
3. Freddie Roulette - End of the Blues [6:01]
4. Freddie Roulette - Sweet Wal [5:21]
5. Mike Auldridge - Stompin' at the Savoy [3:27]
6. Mike Auldridge - Medley: Killing Me Softly/This Ain't Grass [4:36]
7. Vishwa Mohan Bhatt - Raag Misra Piloo [7:02]
8. Martin Simpson - Spoonful [5:29]
9. Martin Simpson - Stole and Sold From Africa/Wayfaring Stranger [5:09]
10. Freddie Roulette - Norwegian Wood [2:16]
11. Freddie Roulette - Blueberry Hill [5:16]
12. Bob Brozman - Chopping Wood Blues [2:30]
13. Bob Brozman - E Mama Ea Medley [3:24]
14. Vishwa Mohan Bhatt - Raag Chandrakauns [20:02]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews