Story of a Prostitute

Story of a Prostitute

Director: Seijun Suzuki Cast: Tamio Kawachi, Yumiko Nogawa

DVD (Special Edition / Wide Screen / B&W)

$28.73 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.73, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


Seijun Suzuki directed this hard-hitting account of a woman who volunteers to serve as a "comfort woman" (prostitute to the Japanese army) at the Manchurian front in 1937. Harumi (Yukimo Nogawa) is desperate to get out of Japan to escape the memory of a doomed romance. She offers to serve the Army in Manchuria, where the sadistic Lieutenant Narita (Isao Tamagawa) uses her violently and wants her as his private servant. However, Harumi has become infatuated with Mikami (Tamio Kawachi), Narita's subordinate, and they embark on an affair that would mean certain punishment for both of them if it were ever to be discovered. Diary Of A Prostitute was based on a novel by Taijiro Tamura, which was previously filmed (in bowdlerized form) in 1950 as Escape At Dawn.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/26/2005
UPC: 0037429177822
Original Release: 1965
Rating: NR
Source: Criterion
Presentation: [B&W, Wide Screen]
Time: 1:36:00
Sales rank: 30,953

Special Features

New, restored high-definition digital transfer; Exclusive new video interviews with director Seijun Suzuki, production designer Takeo Kimura, and film critic Tadao Sato; Original theatrical trailer; New and improved English subtitle translation; Plus: a new essay by film critic David Chute

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Prostitute, Harlot, Strumpet [3:31]
2. Road to Airoson [4:24]
3. Soldier's Washing Place [6:59]
4. Comfort Women [3:26]
5. Adjutant's Girl [2:26]
6. Adjutant's Orderly [2:44]
7. Call to Arms [1:21]
8. Harumi's Conquest [7:36]
9. Uno [4:16]
10. Mikami's Duty [3:49]
11. Deserter [5:16]
12. Sachiko's Luck [2:56]
13. Troops Return [6:19]
14. Surprise Attack [7:21]
15. "Are You Still Japanese?" [8:35]
16. Another Chance [2:49]
17. Regrets [3:01]
18. Harumi's Plea [2:19]
19. Code of Honor [1:49]
20. Mikami's Request [5:16]
21. Daigen [2:25]
22. "Long Live the Emperor!" [3:52]
23. Honor Preserved [3:30]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews