View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 27 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Asphyx

A well-mounted period horror tale, The Asphyx (known also as Spirit of the Dead) focuses on the scientific endeavors of Robert Stephens, whose revolutionary work in the burgeoning field of photography leads him to the remarkable discovery of the title creature -- a soul-stealing demon known to Greek myth which appears at the moment of death to carry the soul away from the body and into the netherworld. By using special lighting techniques, he is able to detect the demon when it appears to steal the soul of a guinea pig, and he manages to capture it in a sealed capsule -- thus rendering the animal immortal. Realizing that the act of imprisoning his own asphyx will grant him eternal life, Stephens starts re-creating his experiment with human subjects. As this is a horror film, his new effort doesn't turn out quite as planned.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2009
UPC: 0759731411820
Original Release: 1972
Rating: PG
Source: Henstooth Video
Time: 1:39:00
Sales rank: 84,442

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Lawrence Mason
Robert Stephens Sir Hugo Cunningham
Robert M. Powell Giles Cunningham
Jane Lapotaire Christina Cunningham
Alex Scott President
Ralph Arliss Clive Cunningham
Fiona Walker Anna Cunningham
Terry Scully Pauper
Tony Caunter Warden
Paul Bacon 1st Member

Technical Credits
Peter Newbrook Director
Christina Beers Original Story
Laurence Beers Original Story
John Brittany Producer
Brian Comfort Screenwriter
Jimmy Evans Makeup
Evelyn Gibbs Costumes/Costume Designer
Maxine Julius Associate Producer,Editor
Bill McGuffie Score Composer
Ted Samuels Special Effects
Roger Simons Asst. Director
John Stoll Production Designer
Ted Sturgis Production Manager
Arthur Taksen Set Decoration/Design
Freddie Young Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Asphyx
1. Start [9:26]
2. Smudges [7:47]
3. Tragic Death [8:53]
4. A Public Execution [5:59]
5. No Secrets [9:29]
6. Prying Eyes [10:37]
7. Immortality [7:50]
8. Bold Experiment [9:53]
9. Evening Together [10:13]
10. The Guillotine [10:58]
11. Giles' Plan [7:11]
12. End Credits [:31]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews