The Assassination of Trotsky

The Assassination of Trotsky

DVD (Wide Screen)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Assassination of Trotsky

This film is Joseph Losey's mood piece that delves into the psychological makeup of Frank Jackson (Alain Delon), the assassin of exiled Russian Communist leader Leon Trotsky (Richard Burton). The tale chronicles the final few months of Trotsky's life, from the May 1940 raid upon Trotsky's Mexican compound until August of that year when Jackson's assassination attempt succeeded. Much of the film details how the shy and mysterious Jackson gained access to the compound through ingratiating himself with family friend Sylvia Ageloff (Romy Schneider). The reclusive Trotsky, seeing a part of himself in Jackson, begins to warm up to him, never realizing that Jackson will be the man to finally kill him.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/05/2006
UPC: 0679398806299
Original Release: 1972
Rating: R
Source: Lance (Koch)
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:40:00

Special Features

Biographies of Richard Burton, Alain Delon, Romy Schneider, Valentina Cortese and director Joseph Losey; Historical background

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Richard Burton Leon Trotsky
Alain Delon Frank Jackson
Romy Schneider Gita Samuels
Valentina Cortese Natasha Trotsky
Luigi Vannucchi Ruiz
Giorgio Albertazzi Salazar
Michael Forest Jim
Claudio Brook Roberto
Peter Chatel Otto
Duilio del Prete Felipe
Jean Desailly Alfred Rosmer
Carlos Miranda Sheldon Harte
Hunt Powers Lou
Enrico Maria Salerno Salazar
Simone Valere Marguerite Rosmer

Technical Credits
Joseph Losey Director,Producer
Reginald Beck Editor
Masolino D'Amico Screenwriter
Pasqualino De Santis Cinematographer
Arrigo Equini Art Director
Egisto Macchi Score Composer
Richard MacDonald Production Designer
Nicholas Mosley Screenwriter
Norman Priggen Producer
Josef Shaftel Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Assassination of Trotsky
1. Mexico City 1940 [10:08]
2. Trotsky's Villa [5:13]
3. Trotsky's Aspirations [8:59]
4. The Evening of May 23 [6:07]
5. The Day After [7:31]
6. The Bullfight [11:25]
7. Rosa Marie [5:38]
8. Jacson Gets Inside [10:28]
9. The Ice Pick [15:30]
10. Frank Explains [5:30]
11. The Assassination [7:30]
12. I Killed Trotsky [4:37]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews