The Europeans

The Europeans

Director: James Ivory Cast: Lee Remick, Robin Ellis, Wesley Addy

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Europeans

Part of the Merchant Ivory Collection from Criterion, the 1979 drama The Europeans comes to DVD from Homevision. Presented with a widescreen anamorphic transfer enhanced for 16 x 9 televisions and Dolby Digital Stereo sound. English subtitles and closed captions are available. Special features include the original theatrical trailer and interviews with producer Ismail Merchant, director James Ivory, screenwriter Ruth Prawer Jhavbala, and composer Richard Robbins. Also includes the featurette "Sweet Sounds," a documentary short film by Robbins. This disc is recommended for fans of the novelist Henry James and the classic film adaptations by Merchant Ivory productions.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/2003
UPC: 0037429178829
Original Release: 1979
Rating: NR
Source: Merchant Ivory
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:31:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; New digital transfer, enhanced for widescreen televisions; Sweet Sounds, a documentary short film by composer Richard Robbins; Conversation With the Filmmakers, part of a new series of interviews with Ismail Merchant, James Ivory, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, and composer Richard Robbins; Original theatrical trailer; English subtitles for the deaf and hearing impaired

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Lee Remick Eugenia Young
Robin Ellis Robert Acton
Wesley Addy Mr. Wentworth
Lisa Eichorn Gertrude
Tim Choate Clifford Wentworth
Lisa Eichhorn Gertrude Wentworth
Nancy New Charlotte Wentworth
Tim Woodward Felix Young
Kristin Griffith Lizzie Acton
James Ivory Man
Gedda Petty Augustine
Norman Snow Mr. Brand
Helen Stenborg Mrs. Acton

Technical Credits
James Ivory Director
Humphrey Dixon Editor
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Screenwriter
Ismail Merchant Producer
Judy Moorcraft Costumes/Costume Designer
Larry Pizer Cinematographer
Jeremiah Rusconi Art Director,Editor
Richard Robbins Score Composer
Henry James Source Author

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Logos/Titles [2:26]
2. A Beautiful Morning [8:39]
3. "Will You Take Me In?" [4:14]
4. A Foreign House [4:38]
5. Portrait Painting [6:57]
6. Mr. Brand Confronts Gertrude [2:44]
7. Dinner Party [12:34]
8. "Companions With Bad Habits" [6:14]
9. Clifford and Eugenia [5:32]
10. Robert Acton Returns Home [7:34]
11. "The Baroness Wouldn't Tell a Lie" [4:29]
12. "Robert Acton Wants to Marry Me" [6:34]
13. Felix the Matchmaker [7:51]
14. The Baroness Bids Farewell [8:34]
15. End Credits [1:41]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews