The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Ian McKellen
Director: Peter Jackson Cast: Ian McKellen
Ian McKellen
, Martin Freeman
Martin Freeman
, Richard Armitage
Richard Armitage
Peter Jackson

DVD (2 Disc Special Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 2


Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage), his mighty band of dwarves, Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman), and wise wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen) embark on a crusade to reclaim Erebor from the vicious dragon Smaug (voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch) in this sweeping fantasy adventure that picks up where the events of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey left off. Peter Jackson (The Lord of the Rings trilogy) once again directs from a screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, and Guillermo del Toro.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/08/2014
UPC: 0794043161032
Original Release: 2013
Rating: PG-13
Region Code: 1
Time: 2:41:00
Sales rank: 3,434

Special Features

Peter Jackson invites you to the set:; experience the film's challenges and demands, and journey alongside the director into Mirkwood, Lake-town and Dale as the movie's most intense, pivotal scenes are created.; Production videos: go behind the scenes as the film is shot and scored.; New Zealand: home of Middle-Earth, part 2

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ian McKellen Gandalf
Martin Freeman Bilbo Baggins
Richard Armitage Thorin Oakenshield
Benedict Cumberbatch Smaug
Evangeline Lilly Tauriel
Lee Pace Thranduil
Luke Evans Bard the Bowman
Ken Stott Balin
James Nesbitt Bofur
Orlando Bloom Legolas
Cate Blanchett Galadriel
John Bell Bain
Manu Bennett Azog
Jed Brophy Nori
Adam Brown Ori
John Callen Oin
Stephen Fry Master of Laketown
Ryan Gage Alfrid
Mark Hadlow Dori
Peter Hambleton Gloin
Stephen Hunter Bombur
William Kircher Bifur
Lawrence Makoare Bolg
Sylvester McCoy Radagast
Graham McTavish Dwalin
Dean O'Gorman Fili
Mikael Persbrandt Beorn
Aidan Turner Kili
Peggy Nesbitt Sigrid
Mary Nesbitt Tilda
Ben Mitchell Narzug
Stephen Ure Fimbul
Craig Hall Galion
Robin Kerr Elros
Eli Kent Lethuin
Simon London Feren
Brian Sergent Spider
Peter Vere-Jones Spider
Mark Mitchinson Braga
Kelly Kilgour Soury
Sarah Peirse Hilda Bianca
Nick Blake Percy
Dallas Barnett Bill Ferny Snr
Matt Smith Squint
Katie Jackson Betsy Butterbur
Richard Whiteside Butterbur Snr
Greg Ellis Net Mender
Ray Henwood Old Fisherman
Tim Gordon Stallkeeper
Jabez Olssen Fish Monger
Stephen Colbert Laketown Spy
Evelyn McGee-Colbert Laketown Spy
Peter Colbert Laketown Spy
John Colbert Laketown Spy
Norman Kali Laketown Spy
Carter Nixon Laketown Spy
Zane Weiner Laketown Spy
Allan Smith Orc Underling

Technical Credits
Peter Jackson Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Carolyn Blackwood Executive Producer
Richard Bluck Cinematographer
Scott Boland Casting
Philippa Boyens Co-producer,Screenwriter
Bob Buck Costumes/Costume Designer
Victoria Burrows Casting
Erin Collins Set Decoration/Design
Will Crooks Set Decoration/Design
Carolynne Cunningham Asst. Director,Producer
Weta Digital Animator
Matthew Dravitzki Associate Producer
Bruno DuBois Asst. Director
Karen Elliott Musical Direction/Supervision
Toby Emmerich Executive Producer
David Farmer Sound/Sound Designer
Guillermo del Toro Screenwriter
Simon Harding Camera Operator
Dan Hennah Production Designer
Chris Hiles Sound Mixer
Jennifer Hitchcock Set Decoration/Design
Belinda Lee Hope Production Manager
Alan Horn Executive Producer
John Hubbard Casting
Amy Hubbard Casting
Tony Johnson Sound Mixer
Ken Kamins Executive Producer
Peter King Makeup
Andrew Lesnie Cinematographer
John Lott Set Decoration/Design
Rob Marsh Camera Operator
Ann Maskrey Costumes/Costume Designer
Brian Massey Art Director
Peter McCaffrey Camera Operator
Andy McLaren Art Director
Cameron McLean Camera Operator
Brad Mill Art Director
Eileen Moran Co-producer
Sarah Morris Production Manager
Liz Mullane Casting
Colette Mullin Set Decoration/Design
Jabez Olssen Editor
Conrad Pope Score Composer
Miranda Rivers Casting
Ann Robinson Casting
Kevin Romond Special Effects Supervisor
Howard Shore Score Composer
Michael Smale Art Director
Mark Stephen Set Decoration/Design
Helen Strevens Set Decoration/Design
Liz Tan Asst. Director
Richard Taylor Costumes/Costume Designer,Makeup Special Effects
Gavin Urquhart Set Decoration/Design
Amanda Walker Associate Producer
Fran Walsh Producer,Screenwriter
Zane Weiner Producer
Dave Whitehead Sound/Sound Designer
Richard Wiles Set Decoration/Design

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
1. The Quest For Erebor [5:43]
2. Wilderland [4:26]
3. The Master Summons [:59]
4. A Commander Of Legions [2:39]
5. Queer Lodgings [3:22]
6. The Elven-Gate [4:12]
7. Mirkwood [3:08]
8. Flies And Spiders [8:29]
9. The Woodland Realm [3:02]
10. The Elvenking [3:33]
11. King And Captain [1:50]
12. Feast Of Starlight [2:57]
13. Barrels Out Of Bond [10:33]
14. The High Fells [3:39]
15. Bard The Bowman [3:23]
16. The Nature Of Evil [3:24]
17. Smuggled Cargo [3:36]
18. Lake-Town [2:22]
19. The Master Of Lake-Town [1:42]
20. The Home Of Bard [6:02]
21. "It Is Our Fight" [1:33]
22. The Prophecy [:30]
23. A Warm Welcome [1:52]
24. The Lonely Mountain [3:56]
25. A Spell Of Concealment [3:35]
26. On The Doorstep [2:44]
27. Kingsfoil [8:26]
28. The Courage Of Hobbits [:27]
29. The Enemy Revealed [1:43]
30. Inside Information [3:25]
31. The Black Arrow [9:11]
32. In The Dragon's Lair [:42]
33. Under Arrest [:34]
34. Bilbo The Burglar [1:38]
35. Smaug The Magnificent [1:48]
36. Orc Attack [2:33]
37. Confrontations [3:54]
38. Elvish Medicine [1:44]
39. Hunter And Hunted [1:15]
40. "She Walks In Starlight" [1:32]
41. A Desperate Plan [1:22]
42. Duel In Lake-Town [2:30]
43. The Forges Relit [2:25]
44. Smaug The Golden [7:11]
45. Credits [4:47]
46. Chapter 46 [10:24]

Customer Reviews