The Island of Dr. Moreau

The Island of Dr. Moreau

Director: Don Taylor Cast: Burt Lancaster, Michael York, Nigel Davenport


$19.09 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $19.09, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Island of Dr. Moreau

In The Island of Dr. Moreau, which is based on a novella by H.G. Wells, Braddock (Michael York) is a decent young Englishman who has unaccountably been saved from being thrown overboard from a ship sailing in a remote area of the Pacific by the mysterious Dr. Montgomery (Nigel Davenport). Dr. Montgomery is accompanying a cargo of animals destined for a tropical island. At first an "honored guest" (prisoner) on that island, he is finds his contacts with the natives increasingly disturbing, for they are not like any men he has ever seen. Eventually it transpires that these "men" are experimental reconstructions from wild animals made by a particularly sinister scientist, Dr. Moreau (Burt Lancaster). He feels that he is in danger from the animal/men and from Dr. Moreau himself and does not know where to turn. This story was also filmed in 1933 as The Island of Lost Souls, starring Charles Laughton as the monomaniacal Dr. Moreau and was remade yet again in 1996 with Marlon Brando in the title role.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/29/2017
UPC: 0887090137119
Original Release: 1977
Rating: PG
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:39:00
Sales rank: 16,740

Special Features

Trailer; Audio Commentary with Jeff Belanger and Dr. Dreck; "The Island of Dr. Moreau as Theological Grotesque" by Gorman Beauchamp

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Burt Lancaster Dr. Moreau
Michael York Braddock
Nigel Davenport Montgomery
Barbara Carrera Maria
Richard Basehart Sayer Of The Law
Nick Cravat M'Ling
Great John "L" Boarrnan
Bob Ozman Bullman
Fumio Demura Hyenaman
Gary Baxley Lionman
John Gillespie Tigerman
Dave Cass Bearman

Technical Credits
Don Taylor Director
Samuel Z. Arkoff Executive Producer
Bob Bender Asst. Director
James I. Berkey Set Decoration/Design
Thomas R. Burman Makeup Special Effects
John Chambers Makeup Special Effects
Eric Cord Stunts
Tony Epper Stunts
Gerry Fisher Cinematographer
David Hildyard Sound/Sound Designer
Sandy Howard Executive Producer
Philip M. Jefferies Production Designer
Richard La Motte Costumes/Costume Designer
Emma Porteous Costumes/Costume Designer
Al Ramrus Screenwriter
Laurence Rosenthal Score Composer
Marion Rothman Editor
John Herman Shaner Screenwriter
Skip Steloff Producer
Dan Striepeke Makeup
Ronnie Taylor Camera Operator
John Temple-Smith Producer
Cliff Wenger Special Effects
Rita Woods Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Island of Dr. Moreau
1. Chapter 1 [11:54]
2. Chapter 2 [10:44]
3. Chapter 3 [9:09]
4. Chapter 4 [11:38]
5. Chapter 5 [8:55]
6. Chapter 6 [10:09]
7. Chapter 7 [14:06]
8. Chapter 8 [10:01]
9. Chapter 9 [12:06]
10. Chapter 10 [:11]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews