The Lost Boys

The Lost Boys

Ian Holm
Director: Rodney Bennett Cast: Ian Holm
Ian Holm
, Tim Pigott-Smith
Tim Pigott-Smith
, Anna Cropper
Anna Cropper
Rodney Bennett


8 New & Used Starting at $9.66


Ian Holm starred in this three-part British miniseries as James M. Barrie, the author of such whimsical works as The Admirable Crichton, A Kiss for Cinderella, and, of course, Peter Pan. The dramatic focus in this series was on the latter work, which according to screenwriter Andrew Birkin, drew its inspiration from the friendship between Barrie and the Llewellyn-Davies family. As fond as he was of "progressive" parents Arthur and Sylvia Llewelyn-Davies (Tim Piggott-Smith and Anna Cropper), Barrie was enchanted by the couple's sons: George, Jack, Peter, Michael, and Nico (played by different actors at various stages of the kids' lives). It was George in fact who described death as "an awfully big adventure," a line which Barrie would ultimately immortalize in his novel and play about Peter Pan, the little boy who never grew up. Upon the deaths of both Arthur and Sylvia from cancer, Barrie became the legal guardian of the Llewelyn-Davies boys, a responsibility that yielded equal shares of happiness and heartbreak. The Lost Boys originally aired over the BBC in 1979.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/06/2006
UPC: 0741952635598
Original Release: 1979
Source: Koch Vision
Time: 4:35:00

Special Features

Interview with writer Andrew Birkin; Photo gallery

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Lost Boys
1. Whipper Snapper [12:12]
2. A Gallant Figure [12:14]
3. To Have Wings [13:23]
4. Terrible Adventures [10:24]
5. Think About Nothing [11:34]
6. Little White Bird [11:25]
7. The Devil in Peter [8:07]
8. The Spark [8:08]
1. Immortalized [13:58]
2. The Solitary Moon [12:18]
3. Beating Inside [13:40]
4. The Mystery [12:00]
5. My Greatest Pride [10:25]
6. Stopped Clock [9:09]
7. Down Into the Wilds [9:40]
8. A Turn to Freedom [9:37]
Disc #2 -- The Lost Boys
1. Desert Island [15:36]
2. Different With You [16:23]
3. Why Fear Death [9:38]
4. Old New Babylon [13:44]
5. Once Upon a Time [6:40]
6. Night of Stars [10:45]
7. I Was Alive [7:34]
8. My Dearest [9:59]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews