The Matthew Shepard Story

The Matthew Shepard Story

DVD (Full Frame)

$6.63 $6.99 Save 5% Current price is $6.63, Original price is $6.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, March 22 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Matthew Shepard Story

This fact-based TV movie explores the story behind the infamous Matthew Shepard gay-bashing case, in which a Laramie, WY, college student was brutally murdered by a pair of local boys in 1998. Sam Waterson and Stockard Channing star as Judy and Dennis Shepard, the parents whose agonizing decision over whether to ask for the death penalty for one of their son's killers provides the movie with its dramatic structure. Beginning with a slow-motion re-creation of the attack on young Matthew (Shane Meier), the script moves back in time to encompass the boy's troubled adolescent romance with another boarding-school student, his previous attack at the hands of a gang while on vacation, and his tentative shot at self-actualization among like-minded friends. These flashbacks are interspersed with the central drama, in which Shepard's parents sift through their son's belongings and slowly come to a surprising decision about what to say at his killer's trial. The Matthew Shepard Story premiered on NBC on March 12, 2002, a week after HBO's The Laramie Project first aired.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/03/2010
UPC: 0096009900298
Original Release: 2002
Rating: NR
Source: Echo Bridge
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:32:00
Sales rank: 23,532

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Stockard Channing Judy
Shane Meier Actor
Sam Waterston Actor

Technical Credits
Roger Spottiswoode Director
John S. Bartley Cinematographer
Mychael Danna Score Composer
Jeff Danna Score Composer
Dominique Fortin Editor
Clara George Producer
Ed Gernon Executive Producer
Goldie Hawn Executive Producer
Diana Irwin Costumes/Costume Designer
Jacob Krueger Screenwriter
Sandra Kybartas Production Designer
Peter Sussman Executive Producer
Shanna Tyndall Executive Producer
John Wierick Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Matthew Shepard Story
1. Hate Crime [4:38]
2. Guilty [8:41]
3. First Signs [4:54]
4. Scared to Death [7:54]
5. Showing Mercy [8:15]
6. Abroad [3:26]
7. On Your Own [6:21]
8. Protect Him in Death [4:58]
9. Life of the Party [7:55]
10. Out on His Own [5:58]
11. The Last Word [7:33]
12. Ride Home [5:05]
13. Beautiful [4:36]
14. Humble Plea [8:14]
15. Sea of Angels [3:32]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews