The Red House

The Red House

Blu-ray (Bonus DVD / B&W)

$13.21 $15.99 Save 17% Current price is $13.21, Original price is $15.99. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Red House

Delmer Daves directs the noirish thriller The Red House, based on the novel by George Agnew Chamberlain. Edward G. Robinson plays Pete Morgan, a farmer who harbors dark secrets and refuses to let anyone near the red house in the woods behind the house. In order to fend off trespassers, he hires Teller (Rory Calhoun) to stand guard. He lives with his sister, Ellen (Judith Anderson), and his adopted daughter, Meg (Allene Roberts). When they hire Meg's friend, Nath Storm (Lon McCallister), to help out on the farm, the two kids start to wonder about the mysterious red house. The film features an eerie original score by Miklós Rózsa.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2012
UPC: 0851169003087
Original Release: 1947
Rating: NR
Source: Film Chest Company
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:40:00
Sales rank: 38,701

Special Features

Audio Commentary with William Hare Move Trailer Original Movie Art Postcard included Before & After Restoration Demo

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Edward G. Robinson Pete Morgan
Lon McCallister Nath Storm
Judith Anderson Ellen Morgan
Allene Roberts Meg Morgan
Julie London Tibby
Rory Calhoun Teller
Harry Shannon Dr. Byrne
Arthur Space The Sheriff
Walter Sande Don Brent
Ona Munson Mrs. Storm
Pat Flaherty Cop

Technical Credits
Delmer Daves Director,Screenwriter
C. Frank Beetson Costumes/Costume Designer
Frank Beetson Costumes/Costume Designer
Irving Berns Makeup
McClure Capps Art Director
Bert Glennon Cinematographer
Sol Lesser Producer
Miklós Rózsa Score Composer
Merrill White Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Red House
1. High School Days [7:58]
2. Trespass at Your Own Risk [8:24]
3. Mystery in The Woods [8:56]
4. Leave Well Enough Alone [10:36]
5. You've Been Warned [7:52]
6. Losing Control [9:49]
7. Digging Up The Past [7:37]
8. Love Is In The Air [8:11]
9. Conflict In The Woods [7:45]
10. Trouble By The Red House [9:46]
11. The Truth Comes Out [5:47]
12. Freedom [7:34]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Red House 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago