The Short Life of José Antonio Gutierrez

The Short Life of José Antonio Gutierrez

Director: Heidi Specogna Cast: Patrick Atkinson, Fabian Giron, Veronica Morales

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions


The story of the first American soldier to be killed in the Iraqi war sets the stage for a studied exploration of just what it means to be an emigrant in search of the American dream in director Heidi Specogna's look at the life of slain soldier José Antonio Gutierrez. When his face made the nightly news, Gutierrez was mourned as an ambitious Guatemalan boy who dreamt of growing up to be an American and fighting for the freedom that America represented to him. As filmmaker Specogna comes into possession of two photographs of Gutierrez -- one as a young orphan and another as a grown soldier -- she speaks with the people who knew him best in hopes of getting the true story of his short and tragic life. The result is a revealing look at the harsh socioeconomic conditions that drive desperate individuals such as Gutierrez to brave the treacherous journey to America in hopes of building a better life for the ones they love.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2007
UPC: 0692074004307
Original Release: 2006
Rating: NR
Source: ATOPIA
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:29:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Patrick Atkinson Participant
Fabian Giron Participant
Veronica Morales Participant
Engracia Gutierrez Participant
Wendy Perlera Participant
Nora Mosquera Participant
David Gonzalez Participant
Marc Montez Participant
Miguel Perez Participant
Eva Mattes Narrator
Alexander Radszun Narrator
Peter Flechtner Narrator
Ciara Pantney Narrator [English Version]

Technical Credits
Heidi Specogna Director,Co-producer,Screenwriter
Gerd Haag Executive Producer
Erika Harzer Screenwriter
Ursula Hof Editor
Rainer Hoffmann Cinematographer
Hans Georg Koch Score Composer
Paul Oberle Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Spoerri Co-producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- La Corta Vida De Jose Antonio Gutierrez
1. Arlington Beach: Opening Credits [2:46]
2. Recognition of the Sacrifice: Media Reports [1:29]
3. Guatemala Highlands [6:10]
4. Casa Alianza: Home for Street Children [5:46]
5. "God Is Here..." [7:29]
6. A New Situation [5:34]
7. Dear Sister [8:42]
8. House of Migrants [8:56]
9. Trains in the Night [2:30]
10. Hospice Christmas [15:45]
11. Green Card Soldiers [:20]
12. Camp Pendleton [4:18]
13. Deployment [5:19]
14. "We Have One of You Guys in There..." [6:44]
15. End of the Journey [5:42]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews