The Silent Army

The Silent Army

DVD (Wide Screen / Dubbed)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Silent Army

A father risks his life to rescue a child kidnapped by armed revolutionaries in this action drama, which marks the acting debut of singing star Marco Borsato. Still dealing with the death of his wife, Eduard (Borsato) is a chef from the Netherlands who has come to Africa to open a restaurant of his own, with his young son Thomas (Siebe Schoneveld) in tow. Thomas soon strikes up a friendship with Abu (Andrew Kintu), a boy whose father works along side Eduard at the eatery. While things seem fine in the city where they live, war has broken out in a nearby country, and one of the leaders of a rebel faction (Abby Mukiibi Nkaaga) is filling the ranks of his army with stolen children. Abu goes missing, and Thomas suspects foul play; in time, Eduard sets out to find the boy at his son's urging, but as he makes his way into a war zone, he finds he's on a more dangerous errand than he ever imagined. Meanwhile, Abu is suffering tortures he never imagined as an eleven-year-old foot soldier. The Silent Army is a re-edited version of Wit Licht (aka White Light), which received poor reviews upon its release in late 2008 despite considerable success at the Dutch box office.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/2014
UPC: 0684457892625
Original Release: 2008
Rating: NR
Source: Terra
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:32:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Marco Borsato Actor
Andrew Kintu Actor
Abby Mukiibi-Nkaaga Actor
Thekla Reuten Actor
Siebe Schonveld Actor
Ricky Koole Actor
Meke Lawno Actor

Technical Credits
Jean van de Velde Director,Cinematographer,Screenwriter
Peter R. Adam Editor
Paul Brinks Producer
Chris Brouwer Producer
Richard Claus Producer
Jean-Claude Fleury Associate Producer
Gerald Frydman Associate Producer
Sandra Nagtzaam Screenwriter
William Perkins Associate Producer
Theo Van de Sande Cinematographer
Peter Warnier Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Silent Army
1. Best Friends [5:09]
2. The Funeral [5:03]
3. Rebel Attack [8:52]
4. Runaway [5:59]
5. On The Road [7:42]
6. Refugee Camp [6:26]
7. The Call [6:09]
8. Survivor [5:36]
9. Church Massacre [6:14]
10. Aftermath [7:32]
11. Basecamp [6:44]
12. Poison Tea [5:42]
13. The Plane [6:50]
14. End Credits [5:50]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews