Tony Rice: An Intimate Lesson with Tony Rice

Tony Rice: An Intimate Lesson with Tony Rice

Tony Rice
 Cast: Tony Rice


$28.27 $29.99 Save 6% Current price is $28.27, Original price is $29.99. You Save 6%.


Tony Rice is one of the most gifted players of the acoustic flat-picked guitar performing today. He has played with such performers and groups as Ricky Skaggs, J.D. Crowe, and the Bluegrass Album Band. Rice has also made a few solo recordings, as well as a few with his group the Rice Unit. On this video, Rice focuses on teaching students several of his most popular tunes so he can easily break them down into their various elements. Special jazz chord arrangements and hard-driving instrumentals are also mixed in. A number of special intros are demonstrated as Rice plays several other tunes. Among the six songs included are "Blackberry Blossom," "Muleskinner Blues," and "Gold Rush."

Product Details

Release Date: 11/01/2004
UPC: 0073999709810
Original Release: 1984
Rating: NR
Source: Homespun
Time: 1:00:00

Special Features

[None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Tony Rice Instructor

Technical Credits

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Intro [1:38]
2. Tuning [2:11]
3. "Muleskinner Blues" Performance [:46]
4. "Muleskinner Blues" Broken Down [4:00]
5. "Muleskinner Blues" Played Slowly [1:10]
6. "Gold Rush" Performance [1:55]
7. "Gold Rush" First Section [1:17]
8. "Right Hand Technique [1:48]
9. "Gold Rush" Second Section [2:18]
10. G Scale Exercise [:39]
11. "Gold Rush" Played Again [1:19]
12. "Gold Rush" Barring With the Fourth Finger [2:39]
13. "Blackberry Blossom" Performance [1:02]
14. "Blackberry Blossom" Played Slowly [1:58]
15. "Church Street Blues" Performance [3:57]
16. Using a Capo [1:51]
17. Crosspicking [:40]
18. "Church Street Blues" Played Slowly [:43]
19. "Church Street Blues" Broken Down [1:44]
20. "Georgia on My Mind" Performance [3:02]
21. "Georgia on My Mind" Broken Down [5:13]
22. Tony's Guitar [4:15]
23. "Cold on the Shoulder" [2:42]
24. Outro [1:29]
25. Web and Contact Information [:20]

Customer Reviews