Unsuk Chin: Alice in Wonderland

Unsuk Chin: Alice in Wonderland

Director: Ellen Fellmann Cast: Sally Matthews, Piia Komsi, Julia Rempe

DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo / DTS)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Unsuk Chin: Alice in Wonderland

As composed by Korean musician Unsuk Chin, this modern operetta constitutes an adaptation of Lewis Carroll's beloved fantasy novel Alice in Wonderland. Achim Freyer directed the production (also designing the unusual masks worn by the participants); the operetta also features puppets designed by Nina Weitzner. Sally Matthews, Piia Komse, Andrew Watts and Guy de Mey co-star; the Statisterie der Bayerischen Staatsoper, the Choir of the Bayerischen Staatsoper, the Children's Choir of the Bayerischen Staatsoper, and the Orchestra of the Bayerisches Staatsorchester provide musical accompaniment, with Andrés Máspero serving as chorus master and Kent Nagano conducting.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/29/2008
UPC: 0880242724182
Original Release: 2007
Source: Euroarts
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [stereo, DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:03:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Sally Matthews Alice
Piia Komsi Cheshire Cat
Julia Rempe Cheshire Cat
Dietrich Henschel Duck/Mad Hatter
Andrew Watts White Rabbit/Badger/March Hare
Guy De Mey Mouse/Pat/Cook/Dorhouse/Invisible Man
Cynthia Jansen Owl/Ugly Duchess/Two
Gwyneth Jones Queen of Hearts
Steven Humes Old Man/Eaglet/Fish-Footman/Five/Executioner
Rüdiger Trebes Dodo/Frog-Footman/Seven/Mock Turtle
Stefan Schneider Caterpillar
Christian Rieger Old Man/Eaglet/Fish-Footman/Five/Executioner
Kent Nagano Conductor

Technical Credits
Ellen Fellmann Director
Unsuk Chin Score Composer
Bernhard Fleischer Producer
Nina Weitzner Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Alice in Wonderland (Bayerische Staatsoper)
1. Opening [1:42]
2. Opening Scene: Dream I [6:10]
3. Scene II: Pool of Tears - A Caucaus-Race and a Long Tale [2:42]
4. "If I Never Reach the Garden" [3:42]
5. "Who in the World Am I?" [5:16]
6. "I Must Get Dry!" [4:45]
7. "Fury Said to the Mouse" [3:07]
8. Scene III: The Rabbit Sends in Little Bill [7:00]
9. Interlude I: Advice From a Caterpillar [6:59]
10. Scene IV: Pig and Pepper [7:40]
11. "Sleep Tight, My Ugly Baby" [8:36]
12. Scene V: A Mad Tea-Party [2:27]
13. "No Room!" [5:17]
14. "Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star!" [7:14]
15. Scene VI: The Queen's Croquet-Ground [5:29]
16. "So Many Heads and So Little Time" [7:09]
17. Interlude II: The Mock Turtle's Story [7:27]
18. "Beautiful Soup" [2:02]
19. Scene VII: Who Stole the Tarts? - Alice's Evidence [9:39]
20. "They Told Me You Had Been to Her" [6:29]
21. Finale: Dream II [8:04]
22. Applause / Credits [3:46]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews