We're Not Married

We're Not Married

Director: Edmund Goulding Cast: Ginger Rogers, Fred Allen, Victor Moore


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


We're Not Married

We're Not Married (1952) is a genial, episodic comedy based on a good idea; it is adapted from a story by Jay Dratler (best known for his thrillers) and Gina Kaus, and was directed by Edmund Goulding. It's also something of a history lesson for pop-culture mavens, as it co-stars Victor Moore and Fred Allen, stars (actually a mega-star in Allen's case) of a bygone entertainment age. The movie involves five couples -- played by Fred Allen and Ginger Rogers, Eddie Bracken and Mitzi Gaynor, Zsa Zsa Gabor and Louis Calhern, Eve Arden and Paul Douglas, and David Wayne and Marilyn Monroe -- who discover two and a half years after the fact that the ceremonies at which they were married were invalid. Monroe is a supporting player in the movie; the main focus is the radio-star couple played by Allen and Rogers, who find that they can't afford not to be married. The 85-minute black-and-white movie has been well transferred in full-screen (1.33:1) from an extremely clean source that is rich in contrast and detail. The film has been divided into a more than adequate 16 chapters, and has been supplemented with the original trailer, which looks good and makes the movie seem more briskly paced than it actually is. The only real problem is the audio, which has been mastered at such a low level that it may be necessary for viewers to drastically boost the volume on their televisions to get reasonable sound levels. The disc opens automatically on a two-layer menu that includes easy access to the trailer and individual scenes.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2004
UPC: 0024543112112
Original Release: 1952
Rating: NR
Source: 20th Century Fox
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:25:00

Special Features

Original trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ginger Rogers Ramona Gladwyn
Fred Allen Steve Gladwyn
Victor Moore Melvin Bush, Justice of the Peace
Marilyn Monroe Annabel Norris
David Wayne Jeff Norris
Eve Arden Katie Woodruff
Paul Douglas Hector Woodruff
Eddie Bracken Willie Fisher
Mitzi Gaynor Patsy Fisher
Louis Calhern Freddie Melrose
Zsa Zsa Gabor Eve Melrose
James Gleason Duffy
Paul Stewart Attorney Stone
Jane Darwell Mrs. Bush
Al Bridge Detective Magnus
Victor Sutherland Governor Bush
Tom Powers Attorney General
Maurice Cass Organist
Maude Wallace Autograph Hound
Margie Liszt Irene
Ralph Dumke Twitchell
Lee Marvin Pinkie
Marjorie Weaver Ruthie
O.Z. Whitehead Postman
Selmar Jackson Chaplain Hall
Harry Antrim Justice of the Peace
James Burke Master Sgt. Nuckols
Harry Carter Chaplain Hall
Robert Dane MPs at Railroad Station
Kay English Wife
Eddie Firestone Men in Radio Station
Robert Forrest Actor
Byron Foulger License Bureau Clerk
Alvin Greenman Actor
Dabbs Greer Man at Miss Mississippi Contest
Bill Hale MP
Marjorie Liszt Daughter on Radio
Edwin Max Counterman
Emile G. Meyer Beauty Contest Announcer
Forbes Murray Mississippi Governor
Richard Reeves Brigadier General
Harry Harvey Ned

Technical Credits
Edmund Goulding Director
Claude E. Carpenter Set Decoration/Design
Leland Fuller Art Director
Paul Helmick Asst. Director
Nunnally Johnson Producer,Screenwriter
Charles LeMaire Costumes/Costume Designer
Thomas K. Little Set Decoration/Design
Louis Loeffler Editor
Cyril Mockridge Score Composer
Lionel Newman Musical Direction/Supervision
Ben Nye Makeup
Dwight Taylor Screenwriter
Leo Tover Cinematographer
Lyle Wheeler Art Director

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Main Titles [1:23]
2. First Marriage [5:06]
3. A Legal Question [:53]
4. Morning Ballet [4:41]
5. The Glad Gladwyns [3:10]
6. As American As... [2:57]
7. Mrs. Mississippi [4:40]
8. Miss Mississippi [:57]
9. Talk, Talk, Talk [4:04]
10. Fantasy World [1:34]
11. Dirty Trick [3:30]
12. No Contest [4:06]
13. Saved By the Mail [:39]
14. Curve Ball [5:21]
15. A.W.O.L. [3:44]
16. Wedding Bells [2:17]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews