When the Drum is Beating

When the Drum is Beating

DVD (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

$26.38 $27.99 Save 6% Current price is $26.38, Original price is $27.99. You Save 6%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


When the Drum is Beating

Since 1948, Orchestre Septentrional has been one of Haiti's most popular and celebrated bands, fusing Latin jazz with African rhythms and creating music that's dense, energetic and full of passionate joy. Filmmaker Whitney Dow chronicles Orchestre Septentrional's long and remarkable history in the documentary When The Drum Is Beating. While examining the formation of the group, the many musicians that have been part of the ensemble, their adventures in the music business and their lasting popularity, When The Drum Is Beating also uses their story as a framework to explore the often tragic history of Haiti and the many changes the nation has gone through, from slavery and revolution to dictatorship, massive political corruption, poverty and natural disasters. At the same time, the film celebrates the resiliency that has allowed the nation, its people and their music to survive despite it all. When The Drum Is Beating was an official selection at the 2011 Tribeca Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/12/2012
UPC: 0720229915106
Original Release: 2009
Source: First Run Features
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:28:00
Sales rank: 89,696

Special Features

Interview with Director Whitney Dow

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Nikol Levy Participant
Michel Tassy Participant
Ulrick Pierre-Louis Participant
Jocelyn "T-Bass" Alce Participant
Yvenel "Saure" Etienne Participant
Orchestre Septentrional Participant

Technical Credits
Whitney Dow Director,Producer
Niels Alpert Cinematographer,Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Fiore Sound/Sound Designer
Jonathan Fumanski Cinematographer,Sound/Sound Designer
Sasha Gordon Score Composer
David Hocs Sound/Sound Designer
Tom Hurwitz Cinematographer,Sound/Sound Designer
Nancy Kennedy Editor
Jennifer Latham Producer
Mark Mandler Cinematographer,Sound/Sound Designer
Eddie Marritz Cinematographer,Sound/Sound Designer
Daniel Morel Producer
Orchestre Septentrional Score Composer,Sound/Sound Designer
Jane Regan Producer
Frederico Rosenzvit Editor
Hemal Trivedi Editor
Marco Williams Executive Producer
John Zecca Cinematographer,Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- When the Drum Is Beating
1. Septionational [22:21]
2. Misery and Joy [12:01]
3. President for Life [9:32]
4. Pearl of the Antilles [6:46]
5. Chanpet [8:24]
6. Promises [11:35]
7. Change from Within [13:28]
8. End Credits [3:38]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews