Where the Red Fern Grows

Where the Red Fern Grows

Joseph Ashton
Director: Lyman D. Dayton, Sam Pillsbury Cast: Joseph Ashton
Joseph Ashton
, Dabney Coleman
Dabney Coleman
Lyman D. Dayton, Sam Pillsbury,


$9.09 $9.99 Save 9% Current price is $9.09, Original price is $9.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Based on the 1961 children's novel by Wilson Rawls, Where the Red Fern Grows is a family-oriented drama four years in the making. This project is co-directed by Lyman Dayton, who also adapted the screenplay and produced the 1974 filmed version. The story involves 12-year-old Billy Coleman (Joseph Ashton), who lives in the Ozark mountains with his mother, Jenny (Renee Faia), and father, Will (Dave Matthews of the Dave Matthews Band). Billy's grandfather (Dabney Coleman) encourages him to save money to buy a hunting dog. For two years, Billy does odd jobs in order to save the money. When he finally gets enough, he buys two puppies and names them Old Dan and Little Ann. Billy eventually trains them to become hunting dogs and enters the Fall Hunting Competition. Also starring Kris Kristofferson and Ned Beatty. Even though principal photography started in 1999, Where the Red Fern Grows didn't premiere until the 2003 Tribeca Film Festival due to numerous production difficulties and law suits.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/21/2004
UPC: 0786936253122
Original Release: 2003
Rating: PG
Source: Walt Disney Video
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:26:00
Sales rank: 5,606

Special Features

Closed Caption; The Roots of a Classic - explore the story's journey from book to film through interviews with the author's wife and filmmakers; Lights, Camera, Animals - learn how the film's animal stars were "discovered" and trained for their roles; Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound; Two versions: Widescreen (1.85:1) and fullscreen (1.33:1)

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. The Older Billy Coleman [2:16]
2. Finest Huntin' in the Ozarks [4:33]
3. A Good Hound [3:24]
4. Earnin' Them Pups [5:52]
5. Journey to Tahlequah [12:10]
6. Hounds in Training [6:02]
7. Keeping a Promise [7:43]
8. A Fool's Argument [9:50]
9. Redbones and Ringtails [8:54]
10. Storm Coming [8:42]
11. Last Days on the Farm [8:01]
12. Where the Red Fern Grows [7:35]

Customer Reviews