Who Took the Bomp? Le Tigre on Tour

Who Took the Bomp? Le Tigre on Tour

Director: Kerthy Fix Cast: Kathleen Hanna, Johanna Fateman, JD Samson


$14.26 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.26, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1


Kathleen Hanna disbanded the seminal riot-grrl band Bikini Kill in 1998, and began investigating a more pop-oriented sound with her solo project Julie Ruin. After releasing the Julie Ruin album in late 1998, Hanna put together a band to perform the songs on tour, but before long the new group developed a sound and style of its own that became her new musical outlet. Dubbed Le Tigre, the group embraced catchy new-wave influenced melodies and low-fi electronics, but kept their feminist political ideology up front in their lyrics, presenting a bold message in a way that was far more likely to appeal to the unconverted than Bikini Kill's more visceral approach. In 2004, the proudly independent Le Tigre surprised many of their fans when they signed to a major label, Universal, but This Island proved to be one of the group's strongest and most cohesive albums. It also proved to be their last; the band quietly broke up after the tour following its release, and filmmaker Kerthy Fix followed the band as they played shows in ten countries and four continents between 2004 and 2005. Le Tigre: On Tour features performance footage from twenty different concerts, as well as interviews with Hanna, Johanna Fateman and J.D. Samson in which they discuss music, politics and feminism, and behind the scenes images of the musicians having fun and interacting with fans. Le Tigre: On Tour was an official selection at the 2010 San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2011
UPC: 0896602002333
Original Release: 2010
Rating: NR
Source: Oscilloscope
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:12:00
Sales rank: 44,661

Special Features

Video Commentary with Le Tigre about the film; ; Never Before Seen live performances from the tour: "After Dark," "What's Yr Take on Cassavetes," "Mediocrity Rules," "Nanny Nanny Boo Boo," "Seconds, " "Well Well Well" and "Punker Plus"; ; Outtakes with Johanna and JD; ; Live Show in Vienna, Austria (2002); ; Rattina the Puppet interviews the band at Ladyfest (2001); ; With an Exclusive Essay by Filmmaker Matt Wolf (Wild Combination: A Portrait Of Arthur Russell)

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Who Took the Bomp? Le Tigre on Tour
1. Blast Off [1:23]
2. "On The Verge" [2:41]
3. Australia [4:36]
4. Riot Grrrl [2:19]
5. "Keep On Livin'" [3:10]
6. Jo's Vitamins [4:55]
7. Big Day Out [3:38]
8. Slipknot [2:35]
9. "Hot Topic" [2:26]
10. Work Out [2:18]
11. DIY [4:19]
12. "This Island" [2:48]
13. Dance Party [1:44]
14. Feminist [5:25]
15. "FYR" [2:50]
16. Last Night [5:58]
17. "Sixteen" [5:07]
18. "Viz" [3:53]
19. Legacy [2:53]
20. "TKO" [2:48]
21. "Deceptacon" [4:13]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews