Dvorák: Complete Piano Works

Dvorák: Complete Piano Works

by Radoslav Kvapil


$17.99 $29.99 Save 40% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $29.99. You Save 40%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Dvorák: Complete Piano Works

Dedicated Dvorák fans will want this four-disc set of the composer's complete piano works played by Radoslav Kvapil. Dating from the late '60s, the performances are subtle, sensitive, and played as well as one could hope. Kvapil seems to not only know the pieces, he appears to like them, and he gives each one his undivided attention and complete commitment. Dvorák was not at his best writing for the piano, and most of the music here could be best described as salon music: poetic, evocative, tender, and very small scale. Imagine Grieg's "Lyric Pieces" but with a bit less charm and a lot less character and you'll have some idea of what to expect. The best pieces are the later ones -- the "Suite in A, Op. 98"; the "Humoresques, Op. 101"; and the "Poetic Moods, Op. 85" -- and as he does with everything here, Kvapil neither over- nor under-interprets them, but lets them speak for themselves. Whether this approach succeeds in making this music more than entertaining is up to the individual listener. Supraphon's stereo sound is perhaps too distant and possibly too boxy, but still serviceable.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/27/2010
Label: Supraphon
UPC: 0099925401825
catalogNumber: 4018
Rank: 122160


  1. Poetic Tone Pictures (13) for piano, B. 161 (Op. 85)
  2. Humoresques (8) for piano, B. 187 (Op. 101)
  3. Pieces (2) for piano, B. 188
  4. Suite for piano in A major, B. 184 (Op. 98) (also listed as Op. 101)
  5. Humoreska for piano in F sharp major, B. 138
  6. Furiant, for piano in G minor, B. 137 (Op.12/2)
  7. Dumka, for piano in C minor, B. 136 (Op.12/1)
  8. Impromptu for piano in D minor, B. 129
  9. Mazurkas (6) for piano, B. 111 (Op. 56)
  10. Waltzes (8) for piano, B. 101 (Op. 54)
  11. Pieces (6) for piano, B. 110 (Op. 52)
  12. Album leaves (Lístky do památníku) (4), for piano, B. 109
  13. Moderato for piano in A major, B. 116
  14. Eclogues (4), for piano, B. 103 (Op. 56)
  15. Furiants (2) for piano, B. 85 (Op.42)
  16. Scottish Dances (Skotské tance) for piano in D minor, B. 74 (Op.41)
  17. Theme & Variations for piano in A flat major, B. 65 (Op.36)
  18. Dumka, for piano in D minor, B. 64 (Op.35)
  19. Minuets (2) for piano, B. 58 (Op. 28)
  20. Silhouettes (12) for piano, B. 98 (Op. 8)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews