Dvorák: Complete Symphonies & Concertos

Dvorák: Complete Symphonies & Concertos

by Jirí Belohlávek


$62.91 $74.99 Save 16% Current price is $62.91, Original price is $74.99. You Save 16%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Dvorák: Complete Symphonies & Concertos

Even though Antonín Dvorák remains among the most popular of Romantic composers, compilations of his complete symphonies are somewhat scarce, especially when compared to those of other great symphonists of the 19th century. That's one reason why Jirí Belohlávek's 2014 set with the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra should get classical fans' attention, but a more valid reason to acquire this collection is the exceptionally high quality of the performances, which Decca recorded in a series of subscription concerts between 2010 and 2014. A deciding factor should be the strong feeling this conductor and orchestra have for Dvorák's music, not only because of a shared Bohemian tradition and the composer's legacy (Dvorák conducted the Czech Philharmonic's first concert in 1896), but also because few other orchestras communicate the rhythms and colors of the music as vibrantly and with as much excitement. As rare as sets of the complete symphonic cycle are, those that include Dvorák's concertos are rarer still. The recordings Belohlávek and the CPO made of the "Cello Concerto in B minor" with Alisa Weilerstein, the "Violin Concerto in A minor" with Frank Peter Zimmerman, and the "Piano Concerto in G minor" with Garrick Ohlsson are essential listening, and their inclusion with the symphonies gives the package much greater value. Decca's high-definition sound delivers clean details and close-up presence, so even though these recordings are live, they sound as fine as a studio recording. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2014
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947867579
catalogNumber: 002110502
Rank: 69228


  1. Symphony No. 9 in E minor ("From the New World"), B. 178 (Op. 95) (first published as No. 5)
  2. Symphony No. 8 in G major, B. 163 (Op.88) (first published as No. 4)
  3. Symphony No. 7 in D minor, B. 141 (Op. 70) (first published as No. 2)
  4. Symphony No. 6 in D major, B. 112 (Op. 60) (first published as No. 1, Op. 58)
  5. Symphony No. 5 in F major, B. 54 (Op. 76) (first published as No. 3)
  6. Symphony No. 4 in D minor, B. 41 (Op. 13)
  7. Piano Concerto in G minor, B. 63 (Op. 33)
  8. Symphony No. 3 in E flat, B. 34 (Op. 10)
  9. Violin Concerto in A minor, B. 96/B. 108 (Op. 53)
  10. Symphony No. 2 in B flat major, B. 12 (Op. 4)
  11. Symphony No. 1 in C minor ("The Bells of Zlonice"), B9
  12. Cello Concerto in B minor, B. 191 (Op. 104)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews