Each Journey Begins With a Single Step: The Taoist Book of Life

Each Journey Begins With a Single Step: The Taoist Book of Life

by Deng Ming-Dao


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This is a book of guidance for life's journey rooted in the wisdom of ancient China. Best-selling author Deng Ming-Dao provides key poetic lines that distill the essence of Taoism, organizing them in the form of a journey. The material here is drawn from three sources: The Tao Te Ching, The Yijing, and 300 Tang Poems.

Deng Ming-Dao writes: "We walk the Way each day. We don't know what's ahead and so it's helpful to have the wisdom of others to guide us. They have left us a message to encourage us. They have spoken of the joys, griefs, and purity that we should embrace. Like good pathfinders, they give us direction and prepare us for what we might encounter. They let us walk for ourselves. We have a wonderful companion for the journey."

The following lines reflect the inspirational nature of this book:
"A good traveler leaves no footprints."

"Think three times, then move."

"Words can be worth a thousand pieces of gold."

"Ancestors plant trees. Descendants enjoy cool shade."

"A journey of one thousand miles begins with a single step."

This is a lovely package that will function as a gift for all occasions and as an object for those looking for daily sustenance on life's journey.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781571748386
Publisher: Hampton Roads Publishing Company, Inc.
Publication date: 09/01/2018
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 567,585
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.00(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Deng Ming-Dao is an artist, philosopher, teacher, and martial artist. He is the author of eight books, including 365 Tao, Everyday Tao, Scholar Warrior, and Chronicles of Tao. He is an award-winning graphic designer and fine artist whose work is shown in several collections, including those of the Brooklyn Museum. Visit him at dengmingdao.com.

Read an Excerpt




Beyond Names



Excerpted from "Each Journey Begins With a Single Step"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Deng Ming-Dao.
Excerpted by permission of Hampton Roads Publishing Company, Inc..
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Table of Contents

1 Journey,
2 Beginnings,
3 Beyond Names,
4 Yin Yang,
5 Sorrow,
6 Seeking,
7 Cycles,
8 Tao,
9 Heaven and Earth,
10 Mystery,
11 Soft,
12 Excellence,
13 Self-Cultivation,
14 Sageliness,
15 Peace,
16 Nonaction,
17 Nothingness,
18 Simplicity,
Glossary and Notes,

Customer Reviews