The Edgar Allan Poe Audio Collection

The Edgar Allan Poe Audio Collection

Audiobook(Cassette - Unabridged, 4 Cassettes, 6 Hours)

$23.35 $25.95 Save 10% Current price is $23.35, Original price is $25.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


The Edgar Allan Poe Audio Collection by Edgar Allan Poe, Vincent Price, Basil Rathbone

Universally acclaimed as the maestro of horror and the morbid, Edgar Allan Poe’s dark gift has for more than a century and a half set the standard for the genre.

Now, Caedmon Audio presents a classic collection of Poe’s most terrifying tales performed by two of the most brilliant interpreters of his work, Vincent Price and Basil Rathbone. Between them, they perform 20 of Poe’s chilling stories and poems, creating an unforgettably intense listening experience.

• The Gold Bug
• The Imp of the Perverse
• Ligeia Performed by Vincent Price
• The Tell-Tale Heart
• The Pit and the Pendulum
• The Raven Performed by Basil Rathbone

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780694524037
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/28/2000
Edition description: Unabridged, 4 Cassettes, 6 Hours
Product dimensions: 4.40(w) x 7.09(h) x 1.28(d)

About the Author

Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849) reigned unrivaled in his mastery of mystery. Born in Boston, he was orphaned at age three, expelled from West Point for gambling and became an alcoholic. In 1836 he secretly wed his thirteen-year-old cousin. The Raven, published in 1845, made Poe famous. He died in 1849 under what remain suspicious circumstances.

Vincent Price's film career included such classics as Tower of London, Laura, The Fall of the House of Usher, The Tomb of Ligeia and Tales of Terror.

Basil Rathbone appeared in over eighty films including Captain Blood, The Adventures of Robin Hood, and The Comedy of Terrors, and made thirteen appearances in the tremendously popular Sherlock Holmes series.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Edgar Allan Poe Audio Collection 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Poe_Ho More than 1 year ago
This is probably the greatest thing you can ever get as a Poe fan! Basil Rathbone is riveting! He really get's Poe. Vincent Price is very fun to listen to also, so this is a win win!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The solid performances of Basil Rathbone are particularly well suited to The Fall Of The House Of Usher and also provide some unexpected interpretations, as in The Bells. The ability of Vincent Price to carefully weave a rich complexity, enriched even with the humor that is latent within the grotesque, without a breach of character or the gravity of the human condition is astonishing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a very good collection of the works of the master of suspense Edgar Allan Poe. Vincent Prince also did a fantastic job helping out with this book.