Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

by James Prosek
4.0 5

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.77 $15.99 Save 33% Current price is $10.77, Original price is $15.99. You Save 33%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, August 22 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish by James Prosek

“This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story.” —Thomas McGuane

“I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish.” —Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called “the Audubon of the fishing world”) takes on nature’s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky’s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson’s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek’s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel’s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal’s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780060566128
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/11/2011
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 305,355
Product dimensions: 5.28(w) x 8.04(h) x 0.72(d)

About the Author

James Prosek is a writer and artist. Dubbed “the Audubon of the fishing world” by the New York Times, his books include Trout, The Complete Angler, and Fly-Fishing the 41st. He lives in Easton, Connecticut.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Eels: An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is largely a transcript and diary of how he collected the information to write about eels instead of a book on eels. Sentimental, badly written and poorly editted, dull, and with little scientific value.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When reading this you won't be able to put it down! A very readable mixture of science,cultural folklore, and plain human inquisitiveness in search of one nature's few catadromous fish. To quote the book,"The eel is timeless and vital, a metaphor for the resilience of life itself....If we lose those creatures that form the foundation of our spiritual system, if we lose those things that inspire us to be spiritual at all, then we will be lost." A must read for the nature lover in all of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi