Electric Guitarist

Electric Guitarist

by John McLaughlin


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Electric Guitarist

Since John McLaughlin's first two post-Shakti albums -- Electric Guitarist and Electric Dreams -- featured the word "electric" in their titles, it seems that the guitarist wanted to emphasize his more plugged-in side to those who might not have followed along on three previous releases featuring his acoustic world music band. He also thumbed through his impressive phone book to call in some of the cream of the 1977 crop of jazz fusionists to help him out on Electric Guitarist, a true return to form. Ex-Mahavishnu members Jerry Goodman and Billy Cobham assist in kicking things off just like in the old days with "New York on My Mind," a tune that could have been an outtake from his earlier Mahavishnu Orchestra work. Also along for the ride are Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke, David Sanborn, Carlos Santana, Jack Bruce, and four legendary drummers including Cobham, Tony Williams, Jack DeJohnette, and Narada Michael Walden. Unfortunately, the credits don't specify who plays on which track (well-written liner notes would help there), but anyone familiar with the distinctive styles of these artists can easily pick them out. McLaughlin is in fine form throughout, especially when playing clean, staccato, bent notes on the ballad "Every Tear from Every Eye." The majority of the selections stay in a more subtle but amped-up groove as McLaughlin shifts from dreamy to a faster, more straight-ahead tempo on the seven-minute "Do You Hear the Voices that You Left Behind?" A duet with Billy Cobham on "Phenomenon: Compulsion" provides the set's most frantic fireworks as both musicians air out their chops on a breathless, galloping piece with some of the guitarist's most furious picking.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/1990
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074644611021
catalogNumber: 46110

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John McLaughlin   Primary Artist,Guitar
Jerry Goodman   Violin,Vocals
Jack Bruce   Bass
Patrice Rushen   Piano,Vocals
Tom Coster   Organ
Jack DeJohnette   Drums
David Sanborn   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Tony Williams   Drums
Armando Peraza   Conga
Stu Goldberg   Organ,Synthesizer,Electric Piano
Stanley Clarke   Bass
Billy Cobham   Drums
Armando Anthony Corea   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Neil Jason   Bass
Alphonso Johnson   Bass
Alyrio Lima   Percussion
Narada Michael Walden   Drums
Fernando Saunders   Bass
Tony Smith   Drums
Carlos Santana   Guitar

Technical Credits

John McLaughlin   Producer
Dennis MacKay   Engineer
Howard Mandel   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Electric Guitarist 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overall a little disapointing considering the castlist.