Electric Version

Electric Version

by The New Pornographers
5.0 1


$11.35 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.35, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 22 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Electric Version

Indie-rock luminaries Carl Newman (Zumpano), Dan Bejar (Destroyer), and Neko Case made their debut as the New Pornographers in 2000 with the surprisingly addictive Mass Romantic. Critics hailed the Pornographers -- largely a side project for the members -- as the perfect amalgam of '70s power pop (Todd Rundgren, Cheap Trick), angular new wave (XTC, Cars), and smart-ass indie spirit (Pavement, Guided by Voices). On their follow-up, Electric Version, the Vancouver-based collective outstrip their early promise, with energy to spare. The songs here -- three were penned by Bejar, the rest by Newman -- burst with hooks and harmonies, buzzing keyboards and jangling guitars. Trumping Weezer's geeky-but-hip tunes and cardigan-clad posturing, the New Pornographers seem to have absorbed several decades' worth of power-pop past: You'll hear the kinetic rush of Drums and Wires–era XTC in Newman's title cut and the Burundi drum patterns of "Antmusic" in his "New Face," while Bejar's "Chump Change" invokes T. Rex glam and his "Testament to Youth in Verse" owes a debt to the snarl of Robyn Hitchcock and Ray Davies. Even so, it never sounds forced. For her part, the irresistible Case trades verses with Newman on the soaring "The Laws Have Changed," which boasts magnetic nah-nah-nah backing vocals, and takes the lead on the dizzying "All for Swinging You Around." You won't find many better albums emerging from the indie underground in 2003 than Electric Version.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/06/2003
Label: Matador Records
UPC: 0744861055129
catalogNumber: 10551
Rank: 1242

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Pornographers   Primary Artist
Carl Newman   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Melodion
Neko Case   Vocals
Kurt Dahle   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Double Bass
Nora O'Connor   Vocals
Daniel Bejar   Vocals
John Collins   Bass,Keyboards,Guitar (Baritone)
Todd Fancey   Guitar,Keyboards
Blaine Thurier   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Carl Newman   Cover Art
Mike Hagler   Vocal Engineer
Randy "Tex" Iwata   Cover Art
Howard Redekopp   Engineer
New Pornographers   Producer
John Collins   Engineer
A.C. Newman   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Electric Version 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago