Pub. Date:
Eleven Stories (Barnes & Noble Digital Library)

Eleven Stories (Barnes & Noble Digital Library)

by Guy de Maupassant

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Eleven classic short stories by the great French master of the form. Included are: "One Evening," "The Devil," "A Sister's Confession," "The Beggar," "The Drunkard," "The Adopted Son," "An Artifice," "My Uncle Sosthenes," "Father Milon," "The Piece of String," and "Solitude."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781411463967
Publisher: Barnes & Noble
Publication date: 10/04/2011
Series: Barnes & Noble Digital Library
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 308
File size: 214 KB
Age Range: 3 Months to 18 Years

About the Author

Guy de Maupassant (1850–1893) was born near Dieppe, France. Arriving in Paris in 1871, he spent ten years as a clerk with the Department of the Navy, working on his fiction in his spare time. His early efforts so impressed Gustave Flaubert that the elder writer took him on as a protégé. His first collection of stories, published in 1881 was a great success. In addition to writing over 300 short stories—tales  marked by objectivity and a highly controlled and economic style—he also published six novels and three travel books. Maupassant is considered one of the founders and finest exponents of the modern “naturalistic” short story. 

Customer Reviews