Elko! A Cowboy's Gathering

Elko! A Cowboy's Gathering


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Elko! A Cowboy's Gathering

Since the 1990s, Americans have witnessed the biggest renaissance of cowboy poetry and singing since the silver screen appearance of yodeling cowpokes in the 1930-'40s. Of course there's no one -- popularity wise -- to compare to Gene Autry or Roy Rogers, and no one has offered any of these ranch hands acting contracts. Still, Elko!, a two-disc set recorded live at the 20th anniversary of the National Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Elko, Nevada, represents the full flowering of contemporary cowboy music as well as marking it as an established movement. The wide array of styles within the form -- poetry, instrumental work, and songs -- is impressive. Baxter Black's "Baxter on Elko" offers a folksy history of the gathering, while Hot Club of Cowtown delivers a swinging take on "Ragtime Annie." The collection works best when cowboys and cowgirls stick to the funny stories and fun -- or at least upbeat -- songs. The pathos of Jannie Haig's "Not Gone" is a bit overwrought, while Andy Wilkinson's "Angels Can Do No More" tries, but never quite overcomes, sentimentality. One might complain that the West -- for the most part -- is still primarily a man's world, and that's true here. Overall, though, this is a fun, intriguing collection, and a good introduction to a truly American form.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2005
Label: Western Jubilee
UPC: 0803020118423
catalogNumber: 3

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Whit Smith   Group Member
Elana Fremerman   Group Member
Jake Erwin   Group Member

Technical Credits

Michael Martin Murphey   Arranger
Red Steagall   Composer
Ian Tyson   Composer
Tom Russell   Composer
Waddie Mitchell   Composer,Producer
Don Edwards   Arranger,Composer
Skip Gorman   Arranger
R.W. Hampton   Composer
Ace Farren Ford   Composer
Jack Hannah   Composer
Jim Ratts   Engineer
Danny Steagall   Composer
David Wilkie   Composer
Henry Russell   Composer
Michael Fleming   Composer
Wylie Gustafson   Composer
Hot Club of Cowtown   Arranger
Baxter Black   Composer
Paul Zarzyski   Composer
Jon Chandler   Composer
Rich O'Brien   Arranger
Damon Smith   Engineer
Butch Hause   Producer,Engineer
Scott O'Malley   Executive Producer
Elliott Rogers   Composer
Kathleen Fox Collins   Executive Producer
Traditional   Composer
Colin Bricker   Engineer
Ray Craft   Composer
J.B. Allen   Composer
Virginia Bennett   Composer
Long John Best   Composer
J.V. Brummels   Composer
John C. Dofflemyer   Composer
Peggy Godfrey   Composer
Janine Haig   Composer
Walt LaRue   Composer
Wally McRae   Composer
Lyn Messersmith   Composer
Joel Nelson   Composer
Rodney Nelson   Composer
Glenn Ohrlin   Composer
Georgie Sicking   Composer
William Matthews   Cover Painting

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews