Ellen Glasgow: The Contemporary Reviews

Ellen Glasgow: The Contemporary Reviews

Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press


Current price is , Original price is $221.0. You
Select a Purchase Option
  • purchase options
    $198.65 $221.00 Save 10% Current price is $198.65, Original price is $221. You Save 10%.
  • purchase options


Ellen Glasgow: The Contemporary Reviews

This book reprints contemporaneous reviews of Ellen Glasgow's books as they were published between 1897 and 1943. Book reviews, originally printed in newspapers and other periodicals in this country and in England, tell the story of Glasgow's critical reception during her long and productive career. Nineteen novels as well as a volume of poetry, one of her short stories, and one of criticism, were published during her lifetime. Her first book, published anonymously in 1897, elicited much attention when it was revealed that the author was a young Richmond woman. By the time of the 1943 publication of her volume of literary criticism, A Certain Measure, she was a much-respected and much-honored author, winner of a Pulitzer Prize and other awards.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521390408
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 09/25/1992
Series: American Critical Archives Series
Pages: 482
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.38(d)

Table of Contents

The Descendant (1897); Phases of an Inferior Planet (1898); The Voice of the People (1900); The Battle-Ground (1902); The Freeman and Other Poems (1902); The Deliverance (1904); The Wheel of Life (1906); The Ancient Law (1908); The Romance of a Plain Man (1909); The Miller of Old Church (1911); Virginia (1913); Life and Gabriella (1916); The Builders (1919); One Man in His Time (1922); The Shadowy Third and Other Stories (1923); Barren Ground (1925); The Romantic Comedians (1926); They Stooped to Folly (1929); The Sheltered Life (1932); The Old Dominion Edition of the Works of Ellen Glasgow (1929-33); Vein of Iron (1935); The Virginia Edition of the Works of Ellen Glasgow (1938); In This Our Life (1941); A Certain Measure (1943); Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews