End of Love

End of Love

by Clem Snide


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


End of Love

Clem Snide's fifth album holds no surprises for anyone who has heard albums one through four. End of Love is just as whip smart, goofy, and satisfying as any of them. It holds the usual 50/50 ratio of deeply emotional ballads and rollicking uptempo numbers, the usual raft of off-kilter pop culture references (German hip-hop, I Love Lucy on "Made for TV Movie"), and a distinct country-rock flavor, even more than in the past. (Perhaps this is due to the presence of alternative country hero Paul Burch on guitar.) It also features one of the group's most beautiful songs, the absolutely gorgeous "When We Become," which floats on a tender cloud of strings, soft pianos, and sweet female vocals. With every album Eef Barzelay's vocals become more assured -- well, assured might be the wrong word because he has always been the focal point of the band with his twisted lyrical view and his keening, nutjob-next-door voice way out front. Maybe now there is a richer, fuller tone to his voice. Maybe after four albums it has become old hat. Either way, he sounds stronger than ever. He has written some of his best songs, too, like the epic rocking title track, the silly but smooth and hooky "Tiny European Cars," and the catchy as heck "Fill Me With Your Light." The only misstep is "Something Beautiful," which is a touch too derivative of Tom Waits musically and tries too hard lyrically (which for a writer as artful as Barzelay is really saying something). It isn't terrible, really -- just a bit obvious. Clem Snide have made a nice little career out of not being obvious. End of Love is solid craftsmanship, the result of a band in control of its sound and the work of a writer who will never be boring. Those are rare attributes indeed, and if you missed albums one through four, this is as good a place as any to start your Clem Snide collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/2005
Label: Spin Art
UPC: 0750078015627
catalogNumber: 156

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clem Snide   Primary Artist
Benny Martin   Drums
Andrew Innes   Saxophone
Ben Perowsky   Drums
Tony Crow   Keyboards
Brendan Fitzpatrick   Bass,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Paul Burch   Guitar,Vibes
Eef Barzelay   Guitar,Vocals
Eric Paull   Drums
Carey Kotsionis   Vocals
Brian Drye   Trombone
Lara Meyerratken   Keyboards
Lily Nevers   Vocals
Mary L. Rowell   Violin
Pete Fitzpatrick   Banjo,Guitar,Euphonium,Vocals
Ben Martin   Drums

Technical Credits

Bryce Goggin   Engineer
Mark Nevers   Engineer
Eef Barzelay   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Peter DuCharme   Engineer
Adam Sachs   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews