Energy Materials

Energy Materials

NOOK Book(eBook)

$112.99 $139.00 Save 19% Current price is $112.99, Original price is $139. You Save 19%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780470978061
Publisher: Wiley
Publication date: 04/04/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
File size: 9 MB

About the Author

Professor Duncan Bruce graduated from the University of Liverpool (UK), where he also gained his PhD. In 1984, he took up a Temporary Lectureship in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Sheffield and was awarded a Royal Society Warren Research Fellowship. He was then appointed Lecturer in Chemistry and was promoted Senior Lecturer in 1994, in which year he became co-director of the Sheffield Centre for Molecular Materials. In 1995, he was appointed Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Exeter. Following the closure of Exeter's chemistry department in 2005, Professor Bruce took up his present position as Professor of Materials Chemistry in York. He is currently Chair of the Royal Society of Chemistry Materials Chemistry Forum. His current research interests include liquid crystals and nanoparticle-doped, nanostructured, mesoporous silicates. His work has been recognized by various awards including the British Liquid Crystal Society's first Young Scientist prize and the RSC's Sir Edward Frankland Fellowship and Corday-Morgan Medal and Prize. He has held visiting positions in Australia, France, Japan and Italy.

Dr. Richard Walton, who was also formerly based in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Exeter, now works in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Warwick. His research group works in the area of solid-state materials chemistry and has a number of projects focusing upon the synthesis, structural characterization and properties of inorganic materials.

Dermot O'Hare is Professor in the Chemistry Research Laboratory at the University of Oxford. His research group has a wide range of research interests. They all involve synthetic chemistry ranging from organometallic chemistry to the synthesis of new microporous solids.
Duncan Bruce and Dermot O'Hare have edited several editions of "Inorganic Materials" published by John Wiley&Sons Ltd.

Table of Contents

Inorganic Materials Series Preface.


List of Contributors.

1 Polymer Electrolytes (Michel B. Armand, Peter G. Bruce, Maria Forsyth and Bruno Scrosati).

1.1 Introduction.

1.2 Nanocomposite Polymer Electrolytes.

1.3 Ionic Liquid Based Polymer Electrolytes.

1.4 Crystalline Polymer Electrolytes.


2 Advanced Inorganic Materials for Solid Oxide Fuel Cells (Stephen J. Skinner and Miguel A. Laguna-Bercero).

2.1 Introduction.

2.2 Next Generation SOFC Materials.

2.3 Materials Developments through Processing.

2.4 Proton Conducting Ceramic Fuel Cells.

2.5 Summary.


3 Solar Energy Materials (Elizabeth A. Gibson and Anders Hagfeldt).

3.1 Introduction.

3.2 Development of PV Technology.

3.3 Summary.



4 Hydrogen Adsorption on Metal Organic Framework Materials for Storage Applications (K. Mark Thomas and Wadysaw Wieczorek).

4.1 Introduction.

4.2 Hydrogen Adsorption Experimental Methods.

4.3 Activation of MOFs.

4.4 Hydrogen Adsorption on MOFs.

4.5 Conclusions.




Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews