by Dimmu BorgirDimmu Borgir


$14.73 $15.99 Save 8% Current price is $14.73, Original price is $15.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


The venerable Norwegian symphonic black metal outfit's tenth studio album, and their first set of new material in eight years, Eonian traces the sonic footsteps of 2010's Abrahadabra, delivering epic, neo-classical metal that evokes the fantasy realms of Tolkien rather than the Lovecraftian deviltry of past releases. Sure, it's more Mordor than Rivendell, but Dimmu Borgir's predilection for apocalyptic visions and souls aflame has dimmed over the years -- some of the bandmembers became parents for the first time during the making of the album -- stealing some of the caustic bite from the proceedings. Still, the mostly impressive ten-track set does manage to traffic in some moments of massive Wagner-ian pageantry, unleashing blast furnace-forged tales of death and destruction like "Ætheric," "Archaic Correspondence," and "Interdimensional Summit," the latter of which suggests what the Sisters of Mercy might have sounded like had they emerged from Oslo instead of Leeds. That these seismic pieces of elaborately conceived aural grandeur lean harder on the choral and orchestral end of the spectrum doesn't take anything away from their icy splendor -- the back half of the otherwise rote "I Am Sovereign" is a Skyrim-worthy cinematic wonder. In paring down some of the sonic malevolence, Dimmu Borgir have unearthed a sort of unstable beauty, with Shagrath's distinctive voice -- an amalgam of Emperor Palpatine scheming and Gollum-esque hand-wringing -- adding just enough fuel injector to help carry the album's less-rugged moments successfully through the black gate.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/04/2018
Label: Nuclear Blast Americ
UPC: 0727361373108
catalogNumber: 37310
Rank: 23956


  1. The Unveiling
  2. Interdimensional Summit
  3. Ætheric
  4. Council of Wolves and Snakes
  5. The Empyrean Phoenix
  6. Lightbringer
  7. I Am Sovreign
  8. Archaic Correspondence
  9. Alpha Aeon Omega
  10. Rite of Passage

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dimmu Borgir   Primary Artist
Shagrath   Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Voices,Group Member
Galder   Guitar,Bass Guitar,Group Member
Geir Bratland   Keyboards
Shaman   Voices
Dariusz Brzozowski   Drums
Martin Lopez   Percussion
Silenoz   Guitar,Bass Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Jock Loveband   Engineer
Dimmu Borgir   Producer
Per Heimly   Portrait Photography,Band Photo
Shagrath   Composer,Engineer,Orchestral Arrangements,Choir Arrangement,Layout
Galder   Composer
Gaute Storaas   Choir Arrangement
David Castillo   Engineer
Jens Bogren   Producer,Engineer
Geir Bratland   Engineer,Orchestral Arrangements
Schola Cantorum   Engineer
Zbigniew M. Bielak   Cover Art
Ludwig Näsvall   Drum Technician
Silenoz   Composer

Customer Reviews