Epitaph - Study Score

Epitaph - Study Score

by Charles Mingus


$70.33 $75.00 Save 6% Current price is $70.33, Original price is $75. You Save 6%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Epitaph - Study Score by Charles Mingus

(Jazz Publications). Epitaph , written for a 31-piece ensemble, was the masterwork of composer/bassist Charles Mingus. The extended suite is comprised of multiple movements reflecting a wealth of compositional styles (not just jazz) that demonstrate Mingus' invaluable contribution to 20th-century American music. Since its last performance 15 years ago, additional movements have been discovered that were originally intended to be a part of the work. This unique 500-page score includes these "missing movements" along with historical and program notes. Prepared and edited under the guidance of Gunther Schuller and Sue Mingus, it provides a monumental resource for study and analysis. The first jazz composition of such magnitude ever to be published, it is presented in this edition as he left it: a summary work, a portrait for all time of his life in music. "I wrote it for my tombstone." - Charles Mingus

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781458418159
Publisher: Let My Children Hear Music, Inc.
Publication date: 09/01/2011
Pages: 357
Product dimensions: 10.10(w) x 13.90(h) x 1.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews