Ere Gobez

Ere Gobez

by Debo Band


$14.24 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.24, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, July 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Ere Gobez

Like NOMO before them, Debo Band are an American group heavily inspired by vintage African music (namely Ethiopian pop) who aren't averse to incorporating other influences into their sound. The group's ranks include members of experimental ensemble Devil Music, accordionist Marié Abe of Japonize Elephants, and violin player Kaethe Hostetter of the like-minded Qwanqwa. The group have played shows with Gogol Bordello (whose bassist Thomas Gobena produced the group's debut album), and there's certainly a Balkan brass band influence to their horn arrangements. Their songs are energetic and exciting, with plenty of funky wah-wah guitar licks and occasional aggressive tempos echoing some of the musicians' punk roots. The accordion lends a bit of zydeco flavor to a few moments, while other tracks have more of a spy movie swing to them. The group excel at filling the audio canvas with inventive flourishes and effects. The album's first half leans toward celebratory tunes, while the second gets a bit more epic and ambitious, particularly on the eight-minute duet "Oromo," which goes through more aggressive sections as well as more heartbroken passages. "Yalanchi" features a very slight reggae-ish guitar lick along with polyrhythmic hand claps. Final track "Eyew Demamu" is probably the least traditional-sounding composition, with more of a tense indie rock atmosphere, building up to a swarming conclusion. The entire album is vibrant and alive, and it constantly surprises the listener.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/20/2016
Label: For Practically
UPC: 0857827004144
catalogNumber: 13
Rank: 157538

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Debo Band   Primary Artist
Adam Clark   Drums,Group Member
Jonah Rapino   Electric Violin,Group Member
Brendon Wood   Guitar,Group Member
Kathe Hostetter   Violin,Group Member
Danny Mekonnen   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Gabriel Birnbaum   Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Marie Abe   Accordion,Group Member
Arik Grier   Sousaphone,Group Member
Bruck Tesfaye   Vocals,Group Member
Danilo Henriquez   Percussion,Trumpet,Group Member
P.J. Goodwin   Electric Bass,Group Member
Stephanie Baird   Trombone,Group Member
Nardos Tesfaw   Background Vocals
Endris Hassen   One-String Fiddle

Technical Credits

Duke Ellington   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Keith Souza   Producer,Engineer
Jonah Rapino   Composer
Seth Manchester   Producer,Engineer
Ayalew Mesfin   Composer
Tesfaye Lemma   Composer
Debo Band   Producer
Bruck Tesfaye   Composer
Danilo Henriquez   Composer
Dur-Dur Band   Composer
Surafel Aseres   Engineer
Harar Police Orchestra   Composer
Tesfaye Lemessa   Composer
Wegayehu Degenetu   Composer
Yamauchi Seihin   Composer
Ethicolor   Arranger,Composer
Pete Lee   Band Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews