The Ersatz Elevator: Book the Sixth (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

The Ersatz Elevator: Book the Sixth (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

by Lemony Snicket
4.5 346

Audiobook(Cassette - Unabridged)

$31.50 $35.00 Save 10% Current price is $31.5, Original price is $35. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

The Ersatz Elevator: Book the Sixth (A Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemony Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warning.

About the Authors:
Lemony Snicket was born before you were and is likely to die before you as well. A studied expert in rhetorical analysis, Mr. Snicket has spent the last several eras researching the travails of the Baudelaire orphans. His findings are being published serially by HarperCollins.

Brett Helquist was born in Ganado, AZ, grew up in Orem, UT, and now lives in New York City. He earned a Bachelor's Degree in Fine Arts from Brigham Young University and has been illustrating ever since. His art has appeared in many publications, including Cricket magazine and The New York Times.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781402537387
Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC
Publication date: 01/01/2003
Series: A Series of Unfortunate Events
Edition description: Unabridged
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Lemony Snicket had an unusual education which may or may not explain his ability to evade capture. He is the author of the 13 volumes in A Series of Unfortunate Events, several picture books including The Dark, and the books collectively titled All The Wrong Questions.

Brett Helquist's celebrated art has graced books from the charming Bedtime for Bear, which he also wrote, to the New York Times–bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket to the glorious picture book adaptation of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.

Michael Kupperman has done many illustrations for such publications as Fortune, The New Yorker, and The New York Times. He frequently writes scripts for DC Comics. This is his first book.

Hometown:

Snicket is something of a nomad. Handler lives in San Francisco, California.

Date of Birth:

February 28, 1970

Place of Birth:

Handler was born in San Francisco in 1970, and says Snicket's family has roots in a land that's now underwater.

Education:

Handler is a 1992 graduate of Wesleyan University in Connecticut.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ersatz Elevator 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 346 reviews.
katiemarieKE More than 1 year ago
the ersatz elevator is a sad tale abouut three orphans; Sunny, Klaus, and Violet. They keep switching guardians because of "Unfortunate Events" caused be Count Olaf. Who in my opinion symbolizes the troubles and obsticals the children have to overcome. This book is aa drama and action novel every child or teen should read. Count Olaf disqises himself as different characters to fool the gaurdians, which always works. And as of now the Baudelaires' guardians are two wealthy, snuudy, uncaring, people. They don't care what the orphans have to say so they THINK thier large penthouse is safe. The childrens' personalities and interests make the book worth reading. Sunny loves her biting skills and Klaus is a big reader and reasercher. Violet is a young inventer and the most couragous because she is eldest. They are all very intellegent, but can they outsmart the bad Count Olaf?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hope that everybody loves this book as much as i do. This book is soo good. Lemony Snicket is a very talented author or a least i think so. I have also read other books by this great author and love them too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read the whole series, and i love it!!! Im eleven and love lemmoney snickets books. This book is full of surprises and adventure as the bauldalaire orphans track down rhe evil scheme of count olaf one more!!!!!! d;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This ws my favorite out of all of the books! I loved it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i love the whole series they are just such a good series to read I WOULD RATE IT A++++++++++++ :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book ever but if you want to read it start with the first book then make your way up to this one the sixth
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books i have ever read! It really draws you in. Lemony Snicket is a true artistic genius.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love these books! You should totaly read not only this book but the whole series. My teacher introduced it to me and now whenever i have free time i read these
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Dark Avenue, and it's the sixth place they've been to since their parents died in a horrible fire. They've been to evil Count Olaf who haunts them in every book, very nice Uncle Monty, grammar freak Aunt Josephine, the mysterious Sir, and the latest, Vice Principal Nero, the horrible violinist. Read this book as the three Baudelaire orphans work to find their long lost friends, the true meaning of V.F.D., and much more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing interesting book that will make you jump out of your seat. Its so interesting and easy to finish because you just get so in to it. The suspense of it. The mysteries. Everything. Dont read this book until you have read the first book second book third book fourth book and fith book. Also lemony snicket has an autobiography but it doesnt make any sense until you have read all of the books. I got the autobiography and i was so confused. Some people are spoiler alerts and spoil the story but all i want to say is buy this book. Please. You wont regret it dont worry. I jumped up and down reading the first chapter :) you will love it so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book beacause it really grabs my attention and pulls me away from whatever else I am doing and it seams to be saying READ ME. Sunny is my fave beacause she has amazing teeth that can help them out of traps. I also like her beacause she is the most courages of the three. Rating: A
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book in the whole series.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
The Ersatz Elevator is the sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events by American author, Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler). As we once again join the unlucky Baudelaire orphans, they are deposited by their banker, the constantly coughing Mr Poe, at 667 Dark Avenue, into the hands of their new guardians, Jerome and Esme Squalor. Esme is a rather forceful woman who is a dedicated follower of fashion, while Jerome never likes to argue, with anyone. Having already suffered the loss of their parents, the threat of marriage, slave labour, hypnosis, a terrible boarding school, and the murder of their Uncle Monty and Aunt Josephine at the hands of the evil Count Olaf and his nefarious assistants, the siblings are ever-vigilant of his reappearance. Luckily these well-mannered and uncomplaining children are also very resourceful: Violet invents, Klaus researches and Sunny bites. Snicket’s tone throughout is apologetic, sincere and matter-of-fact as he relates the unfortunate events in the children’s lives; his imaginative and even surreptitiously educational style will hold much appeal for younger readers.  Snicket’s word and phrase definitions are often hilarious. This instalment sees the Baudelaires  climbing a lot of stairs (and occasionally sliding down bannisters), forced to wear ill-fitting pinstripe suits, drinking aqua martinis and parsley sodas, eating at Café Salmonella, climbing up and down a lift shaft, being thrown down a lift shaft, and improvising ropes and welding equipment, all the while worrying about their kidnapped friends, the Quagmire triplets. Count Olaf once again manages to fool the adults with a simple disguise involving a monocle, high boots and improper English. Sunny uses her teeth to save the day and surprises everyone by bidding at an auction. As always, the alliterative titles are delightful and Brett Helquist provides some wonderfully evocative illustrations. Where will the orphans end up next? Perhaps the seventh installment, The Vile Village, will shed light on their fate. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book it is so full of mystery and you never know what count olaf is the up for this time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always loved the unfortunate events series. I am curently on book 9, but wanting to check it out at a close library. Lemony Snicket is a fictional story mastermind when it comes to his wonderful tales of the bauldilare (forgive me if i spelt it wrong) orphens. He also has some autobiographies the i have yet read. But i will soon read about how he was like growing up. Read all of his unfortunate books, they will keep you from anything else you love to do. Especially if you has a sence of humer, advemture, drama, and sadness. This book would be in so many catagouries of just plain AWESOME!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing gr8
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing, i hope the rest of the series is the same. I have read all 1-5 and am almost done with six now. I suggest you read them in order, they will make more sense. I hope you have fun reading these amazing books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is full of shocks and surprises!The sixth book in the series is just filled with secrets, especially with the guardians! In this book, you will find out something very shocking that you wont find in any book!It has something to do with the female guardian that they will be staying with........
224perweek More than 1 year ago
This story was ok. Not the best of the series but not the worst either. I did like the way Gunther, Count Olaf, talked in the book. Sunny is also starting to use real words. Awwwww........they are growing up soooo fast. LOL.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book made reading fun
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved this sieres and i hope you will enjoy this sieres as much as i have. I havent read the whole sieres yet im on the sixth book in the sieres and i plan on reading the whole sieres by the time im married wich shouldnt be to hard since im only 11. Its a good sieres for yonger children around tbe age of 6-1000 there great books and i love them and i know that youll love them to if you only give them a chance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'll pardon you from disqualification. Under one condition: if i lose im making my advice column on this book series. That ok with u?